Edge pro with OFR studs possible? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 8
Edge pro with OFR studs possible?

Hi guys,

Long story, but I have a OFR (Original floyd rose) in my RG1570 (OFR studs and inserts).

I want to take just the trem out and put in the original trem which was of course the Edge pro.

Now my questions is, without trying to hunt down some Ibanez edge pro studs and inserts and having to dowel fill redrill for the edge pro ones, will the current OFR studs work ok with the edge pro tremolo?. Has this been done and what are the issues with doing this?.

I wont be doing any crazy dive bombing stuff.

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers
nezray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 12:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baytown
Posts: 153
Re: Edge pro with OFR studs possible?

Be cateful of a few things.

. Make sure the post spacing matches.

. If so, make sure that the knife edges contact correctly with no interference from the post tops.
GodzillaPopcicle is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 06:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: Edge pro with OFR studs possible?

The OFR studs should be fine. It's pretty damned easy to see if it will work anyway. Take the OFR out, and place the Edge Pro in, it'll be obvious if it's not going to work .
LonePhantom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Edge III anchors and studs for Edge pro? faekildare All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 03-16-2009 11:43 AM
Edge studs on an Edge Pro equipped guitar? bringer of torture Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-18-2007 06:28 PM
Edge 3 studs Crisis Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-12-2007 07:00 AM
WTB: Edge Lo-Pro studs ohioplayer Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 06-21-2007 01:34 AM
Edge Lo-Pro Studs Q ohioplayer Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 06-10-2007 07:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome