Ergodyne help and advice please. - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 19
Ergodyne help and advice please.

Hey everyone my 1st post for advice on here so sorry in advance.....

I won a Ibanez Ergodyne EDR-470 a few weeks back, the guitar needed a bit of work and upkeep so I took it to my local shop. I asked them if they could do a service and a restore if possible, I got it back a day ago and went to play it but it wasn't in the tuning I had requested which was B-E-A-D-F-G. The tuning was C standard which the guitar was in.

When I called them up to tell them and that I also wasn't 100% on how to set the guitar up for new tuning being as this was my 1st guitar with a Edge style Tremolo so could someone show me how to do it.

The guitar tech said there was not any point in me turning up and having him show me how to set the guitar for such a low tuning, due to the Edge Trem on my guitar is not made to have low tuning and that no guitar with this style Trem is able to go any lower that C standard. I was a bit taken back by this because I know loads of guitarists that play in bands who use drop B or C and lower tuning and they use guitars with simular style Trems, being as I'm a 1st timer with these kinda set ups I didn't wanna sound stupid on the phone to him so I thought I'd do it here lol.

So what I'm asking is, would I be able to tune my Ergodyne to my bands B Tuning or is the guitar Tech correct and I wont be able to Tune lower than drop C with this kind of Tremolo? he also said that there aren't any other tremolos of this style that will allow guitars to go that low including nearly all Floyd Rose Trems .


Any help or advice would be great I'm a noob to these Tremolo set ups so sorry in advance if I frustrate anyone.
Bobblehead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 02:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,646
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

what gauge of strings are you using?? you may have to use a thicker set do go to a lower tuning..
GUITARMAGEDDON is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 02:49 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

Your probably going to have problems with tuning stability, but only because the guitar has a Lo-TRS II trem. Sadly, the Lo-TRS II is the worst trem Ibanez ever made. It is plagued with problems. The first of which is it's "marshmallow" knife edges.

That said, there are many options for replacement trems available that will drop in. Each one will be able to deliver in the lowest tunings. As GM mentioned, you WILL need to adjust your string gauge to a much thicker string to achieve these tunings.

It CAN be done though.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 02:52 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,719
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

Bottom line the tech is an idiot. You should call him and ask him if he realizes they've made more than a few 7 string guitars lately, and all of them have a low B [or lower] and there are also full floating 8 strings with even lower tuning. Then tell him to set your guitar up the way you paid him to.

The biggest problem is with fat strings in a nut that wasn't designed for them.
Rich is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 03:39 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 7,096
Reviews: 1
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

As a fellow UK midlander, I'm curious where you're getting this advice. Feel free to PM me if you don't want to name and shame in public...
jono is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 19
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

The gauge I'm using are Dario's 11's, what would be the best Trem system to replace the old system with ?.

Thanks for the help so far I'll be speaking to the store manager tomorrow when they open up, I knew he was chatting s**t I only pop in for strings and picks if I'm passing there a typical guitar shop you ask them a question and they reply with trying to sell you some crap you don't need or want.

Last edited by Bobblehead; 05-21-2013 at 04:49 PM.
Bobblehead is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 08:13 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

The BEST system that will most likely fit is the Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge. There is a chance that it will need some minor sanding to fit though. After that, a Gotoh GE-1996T is the way to go. You can also use an Original Floyd from Floyd Rose or a Schaller Floyd Rose

http://www.ibanezrules.com/parts.htm#Trems
http://www.g-gotoh.com/international...roduct=ge1996t
http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Bridges,...plete_Set.html
http://www.floydrose.com/bridges/index.php
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 19
Re: Ergodyne help and advice please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post
The BEST system that will most likely fit is the Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge. There is a chance that it will need some minor sanding to fit though. After that, a Gotoh GE-1996T is the way to go. You can also use an Original Floyd from Floyd Rose or a Schaller Floyd Rose

Thanks I'm looking at the GE1996T or the Schaller Floyd Rose but Ill do some more research on them, but there both in my price range as much as I really like this guitar I don't want to be breaking the bank on new parts for it because the old parts wont work with Low tunings.....


Ok then I've done my research since I last posted and I'm looking at Original Floyd Rose Special Tremolo. I have seen a new 1 on eBay for about £60 inc shipping,will this be ideal for my low tuning needs and be suitable for the model I've got?.

Last edited by Bobblehead; 05-22-2013 at 09:01 PM. Reason: Research done.
Bobblehead is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibanez Ergodyne EDR-470 Meisterjager All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 18 02-11-2011 12:59 PM
Project: Ergodyne Speedabob Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 11 09-21-2010 05:09 AM
FS: Ibanez Ergodyne Speedabob Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 05-21-2010 10:23 PM
ERGODYNE LOW VOLUME OUTPUT DAEDAILUS Comments to Ibanez 4 03-12-2002 03:07 PM
Ergodyne Information - where`s it gone ? marcvin75 Comments to Ibanez 1 06-27-2001 08:28 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome