Feel of LoPro Edge 7 vs LoPro Edge 6 and other setup issues - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Feel of LoPro Edge 7 vs LoPro Edge 6 and other setup issues

Question:

Is it just that my setup is incorrect, or does a LoPro Edge 7 feel really different than the six string version? I remember when a friend of mine has a Petrucci model, the bridge moved so easily and smoothly...Mine does NOT at all...I also have this sorta 'clunka-clunka' sound near the floating point of the bridge..can't really do subtle things..

Re: bridge height...the posts on both side should be at exactly the same height correct?

Re: bridge angle...Realistically where should I set it? I can either get it so that dive bombing is easy, but it dumps all really quick..Or I can get it to where I can pull up a bit, but it frets out at the end of travel...

Suggestions please!

If I cant get this to work with a nice new set of strings, and some patience, I'm giving up on this, and bringing it somewhere.

Help Please. :-/

-Matt
mdrobnak_rg7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 06:16 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
For the clunking noise, check the tightness of the arm holder, and then replace the hite nylon bushings. One of those two oughta do it.

Due to the added string tension of the low B, a LopPro 6 will definately feel looser than a 7.

-Drew
Drew is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 06:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
Is there any way to remove that clunking you get with no bushings on? (for sloppy bar play)
Jeff is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 08:34 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 690
No bushings will put it directly metal-to-metal, a fine recipe for even more clunking.
I'd have to say that's just not a good idea. The only thing I can think of is to use something like super-fine sandpaper or similar to take off some of the bushings' thickness, testing often, until it swings as easily as you like, and yet minimizing the metal-to-metal contact.
steve is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 09:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
I've found that just pushing the bar in and out a lot will do the same thing.

After a week or two of pulling it out three or four times a day my bars swing free.

Personally I like them to stay put, and there's another thread somewhere that I asked for some help with this.

Mic
MicJustMic is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2003, 12:45 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,895
You can also lube it up with some 2 in 1 oil so that although the nylon bushings might still be exerting pressure against the inner wall of the arm holder, the bar swings freely inside the bushings. In other words, bushings stay put, arm swings. That way you'd still have noise reducing tension. The other thread mentions the Schaller type arm holder. It is great for tight tension, but the tolerances are usually pretty tight, so that even if you set it to swing loosely, the arm fits perfectly in the holder so you'd get a good feel on the up and down.
frankfalbo is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2003, 01:17 AM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,963
Sometimes you'll get a new one that has so much [extra] grease in the holder a new bar won't stay where you put it [after the gorrila slams it into the hole because that's always the most fun on a new bar]
Rich is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2003, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich
[after the gorrila slams it into the hole because that's always the most fun on a new bar]
Okay, you lost me on that one Rich . . .

Mic
MicJustMic is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2003, 03:05 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,963
You ever try to get a new bar into a new guitar?
Rich is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2003, 03:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Ah yes, okay . . . NOW I get it. (I'm a little slow today)

I have a total of 10 (yes boys and girls, TEN) bars for two guitars at this point . . . so I've put them in new ones, old ones, new bars old guitars . . . so on, so on.

Yep, always a little shove is needed on those virgin bars/guitars.

Mic
MicJustMic is offline  
Reply

Tags
arm holder , bridge angle , petrucci model , pro edge , string tension

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PICS Edge LoPro and neck setup questions S540 '93 is this right? ErickMoral Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 27 06-14-2013 09:09 AM
WTB: square heel neck and edge/lopro edge needed nafigator Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 03-27-2011 06:41 PM
FS/FT Gold LoPro Lo-Pro Lo Pro Edge for original Edge mechanyx Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 12 12-23-2010 04:25 AM
Can you replace an edge trem with a LoPro Edge? - Is it poss Cycovision Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 05-16-2009 01:22 AM
Is the LoPro Edge easily swappable with the Edge? agquake Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-20-2003 02:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome