Fine tuning - Edge Pro II - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 09:52 AM Thread Starter

Fine tuning - Edge Pro II

I have an Ibanez RGT42FML that I bought new a few years back, but haven't use much due to issues with it. It is a floating bridge trem, and from what I hear it is not the best design that Ibanez had. I'm having an issue where I cannot get the guitar in tune at all with the fine tuners. I just had it professionally setup by a tech I have complete confidence in and it worked great unit I started playing and had to started tweaking the strings with the fine tuners. I understand that with a floating bridge its a bit of a pain to tune, but this has been more of a nightmare than just inconvenience and completely frustrating to the point where last night I just completely gave up on an entire recording session and am considered getting rid of the guitar entirely.

So what I'd like to find on this forum is some advice from anyone who has experience with floating bridges and maybe can offer some pointers on how to properly utilize the fine tuners on a floating bridge system. I feel like I'm just doing something wrong and that there has to be a reasonable solution to this problem. I try to just tune like normal, from low E to high E, but as I tune certain strings to pitch, others go out. Specifically the low E has a bad tendency to drop down as others go up.

Any thoughts and advice is welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 10:34 AM

Re: Fine tuning - Edge Pro II

seems normal for floating bridges, you just need to lock the top nuts and keep retuning.

once you get it right it should stay right for a long time though.

It does usually take more than 2 or 3 passes to get all the strings in tune,
but that only takes a couple of minutes, its not so bad.