Finger sweat's pH and sticky fretboard thoughts... (weird) - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2013, 05:15 AM Thread Starter

Finger sweat's pH and sticky fretboard thoughts... (weird)

Hello everyone, I appreciate the time you take to read this weird thread and share some thoughts, I'll try to keep it simple.

Ever since I started playing guitar I always seem to be very profuse to leave fingerboards sticky and grimed after playing.
I have played a few guitars which seemed like they haven't been cleaned for years but they have this good, non sticky, slippery and superficial grime which I feel quite comfortable with, but if I play that guitar for a few days the good grime turns into bad, sticky grime, which seems to be absorbed somehow by the rosewood... as much as it happens with a very clean fretboard, I have also noticed this small white things... which I assume are very little pieces of dead skin that are left over the fretboard, the problem with this is that I no longer feel comfortable playing, it seems to affect playability and (believe it or not) sustain.

Yes, I have tried: washing my hands with soap before playing, cleaning the strings and fretboard EVERY time after playing, using dunlop's string cleaner after playing and even WASHING MY HANDS EVERY 20 MINUTES OR SO during my practice sessions, nothing has given any results.

The funny thing is I'm NOT a sweaty guy and I AM a pretty hygienic guy, my hands do not sweat that much when I'm playing, they do sweat but not like dripping sweat, they just feel a bit sweaty that's all.