Fret Buzz help - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 05:36 PM Thread Starter

Fret Buzz help

I just picked up 2000 S470 for $50 ....The controll cavity was smashed in. the frets were Toast, so I did a refret with some 57x110 jumbo wire from LMI. I did a level and crown three times already! Every string is fine except the low E. I cant get the action any lower than about 5/64th at the 14th fret. Even then it still buzz's. I've got no High or low frets with my fret rocker. I am certainly not an expert but I am not a novice either. I have done many refrets with out a problem. It buzz's heavily on every fret.

There are no loose frets, every one was pressed in and glued with CA....

Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 05:50 PM
Sho

Re: Fret Buzz help

Check the truss rod adjustment

My low e buzzed 1/1000th almost stopped it but mine has a high fret. Still could be an issue
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 05:53 PM Thread Starter

Relief in the neck doesn't seem to help much.
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 06:13 PM
Vendor

Is it fret buzz or is the saddle tail buzzing? Or if you string with the ball end at the tuner some ball ends can buzz like crazy.

I'm assuming you know it's fret buzz. Did you change the string? Past that, try lowering the action. You can find a point in a lively guitar that seems to oscillate with greater amplitude that higher action, you hear the buzz pinging off 1-2 frets far worse than you will with lower action where it's hitting 4-5 frets. Worth a shot anyway.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 07:39 PM

I'd look at the bridge for answers.
It may be something to do with the saddle.
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 08:42 PM Thread Starter