Frets installation on ebony - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

4Likes
  • 1 Post By sepulchrave
  • 1 Post By j.arledge
  • 1 Post By ChAoZ
  • 1 Post By sepulchrave

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

Frets installation on ebony

I've been modifying a RG570CT (one way truss rod) and my next step is to install the frets.
I need to minimize the upbow caused by the fret tangs (hopefully not) although I've already cutted the slots a little bit wider than the fret tangs that I'll be using.
Is there any trick, method, technic to achive this? Like start installing the frets from the middle to the sides, install them alternately, straightforward and pray......???
Anyone with experience on the subject?
It's my first time doing all of this so any help or insight is very very welcome.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/156476...posted-public/

Last edited by Tuga666; 09-08-2018 at 03:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 04:58 PM

Re: Frets installation on ebony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuga666 View Post
I've been modifying a RG570CT (one way truss rod) and my next step is to install the frets.
I need to minimize the upbow caused by the fret tangs (hopefully not) although I've already cutted the slots a little bit wider than the fret tangs that I'll be using.
Is there any trick, method, technic to achive this? Like start installing the frets from the middle to the sides, install them alternately, straightforward and pray......???
Anyone with experience on the subject?
It's my first time doing all of this so any help or insight is very very welcome.