Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Apparently the Graphtech Floyd Saddles will fit on an Edge bridge. I wonder, does anyone think it would offer any kind of improvement?

Dee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 09:57 AM
HDS
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,247
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Ooooo.. interesting~!
I can think of improvment, you can replace your worn out saddles =)
HDS is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

I was thinking of replacing the ones on a brand new Edge when I get the RG550 20th Anniversary. Those Graphtech's are expensive, though, and I wonder if they really make much of a difference.
Dee is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 10:51 AM
HDS
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,247
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

$89 for all 6 expensive?

Rich charges $26 for one Cosmo Edge saddles, 6 = $156

Just think, you can remove the ones from the 20th and sane them from getting nasty if you play it by using these.
HDS is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 11:17 AM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,208
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Worthy replacement for puckered out Cosmo saddles. I don't know if I would spend the cash to replace new saddles.
Ayrton is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 05:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Wales,U.K.
Posts: 1,019
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Will they definitely fit an Edge (has anyone actually done it i mean)trem?
It's just that i'm sure i remember people saying that none of the OFR parts were interchangeable with the Ibanez Edge parts.
I'd be interested to know if they do though.

Not sure how i'd feel about the whole saddle being made from that stuff they use.You'd be losing a lot of the mass of the metal of the whole saddle.
Just thinking out loud really
JTM45 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Yeah, I was reading somewhere about one guy who did it. They fit, apparently.

I do consider it expensive, JTM, especially when considering they'd be replacing the saddles on a brand new Edge bridge. As usual, UK prices are considerably more than in the states, and here they are £60 for the set which is more like $120, but I suppose I could always get 'em shipped from the USA and save some cash.
Dee is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

If you watch the video of HOW TO INSTALL A TREMOL-NO on the tremol-no website, the guy that do the demonstration actually have an Ibanez with an Edge tremolo with the graphtech saddles on. The guy tell us that he thinks they are "cool". The only question I ask me is if you have to sand them. Because if they are made fo an OFR, they have to be in 3 differents heights like the stock OFR saddles. An those of the Edge are all the same height so I don't know if it will be a problem or no.
zdtv is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Interesting. I'll maybe ask the Tremol-No guy about it. I forgot his name...
Dee is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 07:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rugby, UK
Posts: 2,361
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee View Post
Interesting. I'll maybe ask the Tremol-No guy about it. I forgot his name...
Kevin

If you can afford the £850 for the 20th you can afford the saddles
markg5150 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Guatemala
Posts: 1,084
Reviews: 1
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

you will have string save ... i guess
Ironjose is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-09-2007, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markg5150 View Post
Kevin

If you can afford the £850 for the 20th you can afford the saddles
I won't be paying anywhere near £850! Knock a few hundred off that. By the way, I had to sell my RG3120 to pay for the new 550. To say I'm short of money would be the understatement of the year, actually, so don't be jumping to conclusions!
Dee is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-10-2007, 05:36 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rugby, UK
Posts: 2,361
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee View Post
I won't be paying anywhere near £850! Knock a few hundred off that. By the way, I had to sell my RG3120 to pay for the new 550. To say I'm short of money would be the understatement of the year, actually, so don't be jumping to conclusions!
Good score for £600 ish - Where from?
markg5150 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-10-2007, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Graphtech Floyd Saddles on an original Edge?

From the good old USA!
Dee is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge bridge , edge trem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge mysteries solved!!......? - Answers to some common ques Jason Stone Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 18 05-27-2008 09:35 AM
Jem777DY and Original Floyd Rose Rip Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 48 11-17-2006 12:02 AM
Help for Edge floyd rose adjustments JEAPSON Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-17-2003 12:31 PM
Modding a Jackson Soloist with Floyd into an EDGE? gemini8026 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 09-17-2003 07:16 AM
Lo-pro edge into an original floyd rose cavity - Is it possi Captain Ron Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 1 09-04-2001 02:28 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome