Hate to Ask This: Frett Buzz Question - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 03:58 PM Thread Starter

Hate to Ask This: Frett Buzz Question

I know, I hate fret buzz questions too, but this is a first for me: I just got an '04 J-Custom (7-string) and I'm in the process of getting it all set up. I've been setting Ibby's up for 20+ years, so setup is not new to me. However, this problem IS new to me...

At the 1st fret, the low/high B's and E's are fine, no buzzing, and have good clearance between string and fret. However, the A, D, and G strings are too close to the 1st fret... and the D is the worst--practically touching the 1st fret.

I've used my mad graphics skills to help illustrate. The radiuses are exaggerated to help make it obvious...

It *seems* like the locking nut has a flatter radius than the frets/fretboard... but to my knowledge this is a genuine Ibanez locking nut. If this turns out to be the case, how the heck would I fix it? Shimming the nut will do nothing but raise the nut as a whole, and make my outer strings too high.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by webmaestro; 05-07-2013 at 04:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 04:24 PM

Re: Hate to Ask This: Frett Buzz Question

It sounds like your radius is off somewhere.
Either the fret(s) are off, the nut is the wrong radius for the fretboard or the radius of the bridge is not the same as the fretboard or nut.
Do you have anything to check the radius of the bridge, nut, frets and fretboard?
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 05:04 PM

Reviews: 18

Shim the individual saddles like on the JSs.

Jimmy
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 05:34 PM

hey bro, i just PP'd you $75. Dont waste your time, and just take it to a tech

Last edited by Stealthtastic; 05-07-2013 at 05:44 PM.