Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502) - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

Hi guys!

Video tells more than many words:
youtube.com/watch?v=UwTRhEnATzY


Please add www on the link - I just registered and 5 posts is required to post links, and I chose rather not to spam 5 meaningless posts


I love this guitar. However, some time ago the tremolo got extra loose, it was after I had taken the bar out and put back again.

How to fix this problem? I can't find the 1502 model schematics, or any info on how the trem arm should be there. Have I accidentally dropped a washer of some sorts that I didn't see, and I need a replacement? Is there some kind of adjustment that can be made? I just know it's a lot more loose and "scratchier" than before, it kind of scratches when I turn it. Like there was sand there or something. Before it used to be nice and smooth + not much travel in the arm. Also, if the tremolo arm can be changed, recommendations for "travelless" models are appreciated.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Velokki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 04:04 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 26,112
Re: Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

Is there a black torque bushing under the cap?
Rich is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Re: Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

Nope, nada!
Velokki is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 04:23 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 26,112
Re: Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

2ZR212
Rich is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Re: Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
2ZR212

Goddang. That's it. I'm quite confident that existed there before and is now long gone.


Thanks a million!!



I shall order one. Any recommendations where to buy? (I'm in EU, Finland to be exact)
Velokki is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2021, 04:45 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 26,112
Re: Help with AZ tremolo (Gotoh 1502)

Thoman or Meinl
Rich is offline  
Reply

Tags
bar , gotoh , socket , trem , tremolo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome