Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-26-2008, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I've used rack systems and emg's for a long time.

Today I wired some Dimarzio's into an RG1570 and tried them through my rack presets. But they came out a bit weaker than the EMG's and the noise gates ate them up considerably quicker than they would my EMG's.

Are the dimarzio's just weaker outputs or did I do something wrong? I know I wired them right. Green and ground to ground and red to switch.

They sound pretty normal but they just distort pretty limply compared to my EMG's. Do I just need to adjust the gain and noise gate parameters in my rack?

For the record, I have tried other pickups through the same setup (tom andersons mostly) and they don't do this. It's weird.
jbandy10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-26-2008, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Which EMGs are they? EMGs are typically pretty high gain, so that might be the issue.
waylay00 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-26-2008, 10:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,076
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I assume you adjusted the pickup height, properly, right?
Racerx2k is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I have used all the emg's (60, 81, 85)

The height is pretty normal. The signal just seems a lot weaker than everything else I've used.

Is it possible that I didn't ground them good? Would that even be the issue?
jbandy10 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 02:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: racine, WI
Posts: 1,499
Reviews: 7
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I use passives and my other guitarist uses EMG's. When he plugs his guitar into my rig it doesn't change the volume noticeably. It also works the other way around, when I plug into his gear the volume is so close you can't tell the EMG's are higher output.

Also never had to do any tweaking on my setup between active and passive pup's.
brothersnowgone is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 03:17 AM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,274
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I guess it could depend on what type of Dimarzio's you've put into your 1570. Is the weak issue on all positions of the 1570? Have you tested that the proper coils are working per switch position?
Ibateur is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Yeah it's all 3 pickups. And they are high gain pickups. I'm thinking Something got wired weird. Which doesn't make sense cause I wire them all the time.
jbandy10 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbandy10 View Post
And they are high gain pickups.
Ok, you really need to be specific as to precisely which Dimarzios you have just installed.
toneboy is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I just realized what the problem was.

I ordered regular spaced when I needed F-spaced. The poles are totally off.

Do you think Dimarzio will let me do an exchange?
jbandy10 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 04:08 PM
 
axemanrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,097
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I doubt standard spacing would cause a major issue like you have described. What pickups though?
axemanrio is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 04:13 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,781
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Spacing will definitely not make that much difference. To repeat the questions above- which Dimarzios have you installed?
Algiman is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 04:22 PM
 
axemanrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,097
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Maybe they're DiMarzio/ibz pickups?
axemanrio is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

No.

Neck is a breed. Middle is an air norton s. Bridge is a Super 3.
jbandy10 is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 130
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

I've had problems like that before and usually it was just that the pickups I was putting in needed one of them to be reversed in the wiring. The first time I wired the RG 550 it came out terrible or where only one sounded right. I just kept researching and switching things around until I got it right. The folks at DiMarzio are supposedly really great at helping you wire things right, but I've never had to call them.

You might need better pots or capacitors also... just a thought.
Silver Sable is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-27-2008, 07:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 139
Re: Help! Pickups sound weak? Is it just my setup?

Okay this is odd!

I got a hold of an F-spaced PAF pickup and another stacked single to install and test.

I wired the F-spaced in place of the breed and it is WAY louder than the other two! So then I thought...well why is the stacked single coil not loud if it doesn't need to be f-spaced?

I put the other one in there and it's louder... WTF. Something must have been wired wrong. I'm lost.
jbandy10 is offline  
Reply

Tags
air norton , pickup height , rack pre , rack system

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How's this setup sound? tomkatzz All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 0 04-03-2007 09:54 PM
pickups - looking for a warm jazz sound for a mahogany/maple trajectory fish Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 12-17-2001 08:45 AM
I FOUND MY SOUND!!! - And i wanna share it with you! armindo__dias Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 06-01-2001 12:32 AM
Help! New pickups in JS100 Sound bad? - PAF pro and Fred sou Voodoosoup Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 6 03-27-2001 08:27 PM
5150 setup - making the 5150 half sound more like Vai Allen Lee Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 02-28-2001 05:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome