Help with tightening arm holder/removing trem... i'm scared! - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-22-2004, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
ddk

Help with tightening arm holder/removing trem... i'm scared!

Hi all,

I have been playing Ibanez guitars equipped with Edge trems for 15 years and have NEVER heard of tightening the arm holder until I did a jemsite search. So THANK YOU! I have been putting up with loose, jiggly bars this whole time, and I want to fix it, because they PISS ME OFF!!

I have read through the instructions at
http://jemsite.com/tech/t_3other.htm#tremarmholder

and

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/loose_holder.htm

but there are several points I wanted to clarify before diving in.

The jemsite directions seemed to point towards performing the repair with a deep socket wrench and screwdriver with the trem in place, while the ibanezrules site recommends removing the trem and using a 10mm wrench and "channel lock" pliers. Any recommendations for using one method over the other?

As far as tools needed, I have a 10mm wrench, but do not know what channel lock pliers are. I did a google search, and am getting confused because apparently there is a BRAND of pliers with the name "channel lock." Can anyone clarify what specific tool(s) I should be looking for?

THANK YOU!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-22-2004, 05:46 PM
Vendor

If it's Channel Lock brand they call them tongue and groove pliers, which used to just be universally known as channel lock

http://www.coastaltool.com/cgi-bin/S...608+1085303389