IBANEZ RG2020, Lo Pro Edge setup. - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 06:28 PM Thread Starter

IBANEZ RG2020, Lo Pro Edge setup.

Hi,

I needed some help setting the angle on my guitar and although I have had some experience with setting up a floating tremolo, I have forgotten a few things and require help remembering a few things that need to be done when setting the bridge's angle i.e. lowering or raising the bridge. I had taken it to a shop recently and the fretboard was cleaned and the strings were changed. I'm not too worried about any buzzing right now or anything else, such as intonation etc. or even action height as I just want to set the tremolo angle/bridge angle. I also want to skip the part where the strings need to be stretched ( as mentioned on Ibanez Rules' website, and others) since I think that needs ot be done after the bridge angle is set??

The bridge is raised, which means that the strings are pulling it up, or that if I drop the tuning by a half step or so then the bridge would settle down. So my questions are :

1. When turning/tigheting the screws in the back cavity, do I need to detune all of the strings first? Do I need to first detune the strings and then tighten the screws at the back or do I need to tighten them without detuning the strings and retuning them? This would mean that I would have to detune and retune before after every 1/4 or 1/8th turn. Excuse me if I'm wrong but that's just how I learnt it a long time back, that the stirngs should be loosened and the bridge depressed before tightening the screws in the back/spring cavity, and then raised again/retuned to check the angle.

2. How much should I turn the screws at the back, at a time? Should they be 1/4 or 1/8th turns?