Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge. - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-23-2005, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA
Posts: 112
Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

I already own an Ibanez RG 1520 with the peizo's and Roland GK 13 pin out. Unfortunately Ibanez does not offer GK electronics in any other guitar, and I need at least one good back up guitar with 13 pin out. Ibanez also does not sell the Edge Pro with GK to customers or dealers, and we all know that unless you are an endorsee, you aren't getting any custom work.

I've located a used Double edge pro bridge, which has the "steel inserts" where the peizo's are on my bridge, and am considering purchasing it and replacing the inserts with LR baggs peizos,(the same peizo's that are installed in the RG 1520 bridge), and adding a Ghost Hexpander to a new RG model.

Does any one have any experience with this type of work? Or good experience with the Steel inserts on the Edge Pro? If I could be certain that the LR baggs peizo's would easily fit, and that the lead wires have a good exit hole on the bridge plate, I'm ready to do some experimenting! I've studied the Photos of the Edge Pro Bridge from the Ibanez Parts Page, and as best as I can tell the Steel Inserts are exactly the same size as the peizo's, (there are no detailed photos of the Edge Pro for GK as Ibanez will not sell these, or the Double Edge Pro for any reason!).

I have had many Roland Synth controllers in the past, including the Ibanez made Roland G505, and G808, and the Ibanez original IMG 2010. The RG 1520 tracks better than anything on the market! I'm also so acustomed to the Edge Pro bridge that a standard Strat style bridge doesn't work right for me. (BTW, tuning and intonation stability are also essential for proper synth tracking with any 13 pin system, and, In My Honest Opinion,the Edge Pros' stability is unsurpassed!).

The Brian Moore i series, and Godin Freeway SA guitars support 13 pin output, and track very well. But no other manufacturer offers peizo's in a Floyd style bridge. I am also very loyal to Ibanez. I would rather purchase a Japanese AR 2000/3000 at $1900, than a similarly priced US Gibson Les Paul. (I've been told that I'm nuts more than a few times for making that comment).

Of course I could just purchase a second RG 1520,...but,... where is the challange in that?
merman_93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-07-2005, 08:41 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Hey merman
Did you ever get anywhere on that bridge mod? I'm in the same position. I put a GK3 on my RG470. I love my 2 Ibanez JEMs and RG470 but I want a GK pickup in the saddles instead of under the strings. I wouldn't ever modify my JEMs for a GK3 but I would consider doing what you suggest if it works. Also, I can't find the RG1520s anywhere. They're still on the Ibanez website, but no one on the web has them or Guitar Center.
Lee
gouge1lt is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-16-2006, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA
Posts: 112
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

"Did you ever get anywhere on that bridge mod? "

I had the #1 RMC guy in the U.S. install an RMC Poly Drive I with Piezo's in an MIJ Ibanez Artist, and was ecstatic with the results! It looked totally Factory, and tracked beautifully! That only made me more upset that I was unable to order an Ibanez RG series with the Piezo/GK set up in a guitar other than Black! Then I went another route. I had received an e-mail from a friend who owned a Caparison and felt it had a lot of similarities with modern Ibanez guitars, and they were in the business of making customs. I few e-mails, phone calls, and a Cashiers check later, and I had an order. I found an Ibanez Trem with Piezo's on-line for $130, and a Roland GK-Kit for Internal installation for $170, and I sent them to Caparison guitars in Japan and had a Custom "Angelus" guitar built for about $2200. Ibanez are my absolute favorite guitar, but I was frustrated with the attitude of Ibanez to not offer any custom work unless you are an endorsee! I didn't want to go the route of just having an RG 1520 GK re-sprayed, and although it was expensive, and it's not an Ibanez, I am very happy to have an excellant Japanese Factory Custom guitar with the Piezo/GK circuit.
merman_93 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-16-2006, 09:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 203
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Wow, sounds like one sweet guitar. Any chance of pictures?
Awakened Sleeper is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2006, 01:52 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 77
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

hi, can you post a `pic on the detail of the double edge trem?? ill like to modify an original edge to have the piezos... not really sure how ibanez did it...

thanks
jlander is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-20-2006, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA
Posts: 112
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.



This is as clear as I could get it. There is a possibility that the "steel chips"
in the Edge Pro Trems could be replaced with L'R' Baggs piezo's as it appears the chip and Piezo are the same size/shape.
merman_93 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 04:09 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by merman_93 View Post
I found an Ibanez Trem with Piezo's on-line for $130, and a Roland GK-Kit for Internal installation for $170
are you talking about the GK-Kit-GK3?

http://www.rolandus.com/PRODUCTS/pro...35&ParentId=55

because it looks like that includes a pickup. can you be a little more specific?

right now on **** there is a double edge pro bridge, but it costs over $400!
13 pin out is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 01:16 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 20
Cool Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

My RG1520g-Bk should arrive by tomorrow.
I've wanted an Ibanez midi guitar with FR since they started producing them but can not understand why they are only produced with one paint job. Black.
I Hate black guitars (unless its a Les Paul Custom.) Not really a fan of yet another dot neck, I would've loved any options such as shark tooth inlays.

I curious what Merman's custom made midi guitar looks like.
RexGtr is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-09-2007, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 203
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13 pin out View Post
are you talking about the GK-Kit-GK3?
I daresay that's exactly what he was referring to, the Double Edge on it's own won't give a synth-compatible output which is why the kit would be required. The pickup supplied with the kit probably wasn't used.

Bear in mind this thread is a year and a half old!
Awakened Sleeper is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-27-2008, 05:41 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 49
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Is there an Ibanez guitar that allows you to have 3 sounds; Synth, Piezo, and Magnetic Pickups?
guitarmandp is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-28-2008, 08:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Anyone who can help me with a good quality photo of the electronics-board inside the RG1520G? I want to compare that to the normal GK-board and try to figure out if I can directly connect the piezo's from my S2020XAV to a GK-2a board.

Thanks

Marco
Marco de Neijs is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-28-2008, 10:51 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,924
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarmandp View Post
Is there an Ibanez guitar that allows you to have 3 sounds; Synth, Piezo, and Magnetic Pickups?
If you got a RG21a/b and put a double edge on it..
Lefty Robb is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-01-2009, 12:15 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 37
Re: Installing peizos into an edge pro bridge.

SOMEONE HAS FOUND THE SOLUTION!!!!!!!!:

link to stickied thread on sevenstring.org

http://www.sevenstring.org/forum/pic...-possible.html
guitarplayerone is offline  
Reply

Tags
brian moore , caparison guitars , custom guitar , double edge pro , double edge trem , edge pro bridge , edge pro trem , edge pro trems , edge pros , edge trem , gibson les paul , ibanez guitars , ibanez jem , ibanez trem , les paul , les paul custom , magnetic pickups , shark tooth inlays , strat style

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a ZR bridge on Ibanez RG470 Anton Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 11-16-2008 07:33 PM
Installing a TOM Bridge philipday1 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 10-21-2008 07:12 PM
Installing a bridge pickup on a hollowbody...that doesn't already have one! Smitty Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 10 08-01-2008 01:40 PM
Installing a Hardtail bridge on floyd guitar? ZOMB13 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 10-27-2005 07:54 PM
Help installing a bridge - And where can I buy a Lo-Pro Edge Kremlin Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 07-27-2001 06:35 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome