Intonation misinformation or is it just me? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Exclamation Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

Hi.

My guitar is perfectly tuned and the bridge angle is dead on.
I've been trying to intonate now.

On every site i visited including www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup, floydrose.com there is a step that is ignored imho and it's screwing my attempt to intonate my guitar..


From floydrose.com
"1. Determine if the intonation of the string you wish to change is sharp or flat
2. ...loosen the string until it is limp.
3. Loosen the attachment screw holding the saddle to the bridge plate while holding the saddle in place. Move the saddle in the desired direction....
4. Re-tune the string and check the intonation again...
5. Repeat this cycle until each string is properly intonated.

?!?!? But when you loose the string until it is limp (1), set the intonation on that string(2,3), and re-tune again (4) the other five strings are not perfectly tuned again..

So... Should i tune them perfectly again? This will not move the bridge angle again and screw the intonation on the string??

How about the position of the guitar? I've tried to set everything with the guitar perpendicular to the ground... None of the sites mention this (except www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup , but not in the intonation chapter)...

I'm getting crazy! I've tried everything with no sucess. I HATE a guitar when its badly intonated, even slightly...

I need to intonate the guitar myself, guitar tech's here are a nightmare... I serious doubt if they can tune the A string to 440....

I hope anyone can help me..

cheers
Brohymn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 08:47 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland; God's country
Posts: 593
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

just block the Trem and follow rich's instructions
if the saddle point dose not move. then it is one string at a time just like a hardtail , simple
life is a compromise and so are guitars.
worked for me on 2 trems back to back.
Manticore is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 08:50 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 846
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

Yeah, you need to get the bridge in the position it will ultimately be in when you're setting intonation. See if you can block the bridge temporarily, at least so it only moves one way. I've heard a stack of pennies can work wonders.
skins345669 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 09:09 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

pennies, a 9V battery, a wooden clothespin...

eviltwin is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

Thanks guys.

One last question:

1. I block the trem.
2. Set the intonation
3. Unblock the trem

Now what if the trem angle is not dead on again? I need to adjust it with the springs until the guitar is tuned or the trem angle is correct? Or i can do this? In the theory i can but...

cheers
Brohymn is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 09:32 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland; God's country
Posts: 593
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

the small amount that the trem moves to get level again should not matter if the trem level was set to begin with
Manticore is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-18-2009, 02:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Intonation misinformation or is it just me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brohymn View Post
Thanks guys.

One last question:

1. I block the trem.
2. Set the intonation
3. Unblock the trem

Now what if the trem angle is not dead on again? I need to adjust it with the springs until the guitar is tuned or the trem angle is correct? Or i can do this? In the theory i can but...

cheers
no, you need to tune the guitar with the block in place,
put the springs back, the block will probably fall out
then you adjust the springs until you are back in tune (back to the virtual "blocked" position.

so recap:

#) remove springs, (with strings to pitch), but block in, the string tension will keep the block in place
#) tune and adjust intonation,
#) put springs back
#) adjust springs to get back to pitch, by screwing in/out the spring claw.

Only if the adjustment on the springs is too crude should you retune (using the fine tuners)
The trem angle should be exacly what it was when you had block in so make sure you are happy with that position!
eviltwin is offline  
Reply

Tags
intonation

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intonation help! ibanezlover Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 12-06-2005 09:47 AM
Intonation stu_hig Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 11-26-2005 09:45 PM
intonation on my jem FireAndSpirit Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 10-14-2005 05:24 AM
Intonation eg Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 14 01-04-2003 05:09 PM
Can I adjust the intonation without the intonation tools? - cowcowcow Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 01-15-2002 03:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome