JEM 7V/UV setup issues? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2006, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

JEM 7V/UV setup issues?

I have 2003 JEM 7VWH (Edge Pro bridge) which I have recently started to play a bit more as my RG570EX (Low Pro Edge) which I mess around on is away getting a sustainer. The JEM despite having much better pickups has a few issues. I read the tech setup section here and as best I can tell (I'm no expert) the bridge angle looks right, maybe very slightly forward if anything at all. The bridge is as low as it can go as the bar only just clears the pickup selector when in the middle position. The saddles on the bridge are set as they were from the factory and one thing that always bothered me was that fact that the D string saddle is so far forward it is slighty over the base of the trem (slightly over the gap between the bridge and the pick guard). The intonation seems to be set about right.

The issues are that anything other than slight trem movement will throw one, two or even three strings out of tune, usually flat. This can be enough that I have to unlock the nut as the fine tuners will be maxed out trying to correct it.

The other issue is that I feel the action is still too high. I measure roughly 3mm on the high E at the 24th fret.

Am I missing something obvious or is it time to take it to an expert? There are few Ibanez dealers locally so I have put this off so far. I also have a UV777BK also a 2003 model with the same bridge design and that also has suffered similar symptoms although the tuning is generally more stable than the JEM, pull ups can cause problems. I find the action a bit high again. I have lowed the bridge but the arm is now just catching the pickup selector.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-30-2008, 01:35 AM

Re: JEM 7V/UV setup issues?