Lo pro edge & Double Edge in tune problem - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 05:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
Lo pro edge & Double Edge in tune problem

I used to have some floyd rose equipped axes, but since some time i have a Lo Pro Edge equipped guitar (JPM100) and a Double Edge trem (RG2127X) the problem i have with these trems, is that they don't stay in tune anywhere near the floyd roses. I know this is weird because the Lo Pro's should be at similar or better quality. (so stay in tune as well)

I am by the way talking about them not staying in tune while using heavy tremolo work. (but just pushing the bar down) Both the G and A string drop down about a quarter step. The strings are properly stretched since i left the nut unlocked for some time and kept the strings in tune without finetuning as well.

Is there anything i can do about this? I've already changed springs on the Double Edge (used to have 4 springs, now it has 3 high tension springs, but that was a few months ago) but the problem is still there.
Raffel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 06:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Lo pro edge & Double Edge in tune problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffel
The strings are properly stretched since i left the nut unlocked for some time and kept the strings in tune...
you mean that you stretched AND left the nut unlocked, or you just tuned the strings and left the nut unlocked?
nuno is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
- replaced the strings
- let them adjust to the tension when in tune (nut not locked)
- tune them some more (without nut locked)
- lock nut
- whammy some
- out of tune...



You seem to answer every question on this board lol
Raffel is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 08:00 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
ok, so you just have to stretch the strings before locking the nut.
tune to pitch, stretch one string at a time, retune, repeat till the strings need no retuning, then lock the nut. that should work.

or you can click the banner "Ibanez Rules" above, that will help you definitely.
nuno is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 08:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
could it be anything else? I did notice the pin on the edge of the bridge for finetuning the A string stuck out a bit, jammed it back in there.
Raffel is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
fine-tuning knobs should be set half position, allowing you either up and down adjusting range.
but i really doubt that a fine-tuner could ever affect tuning stability.
nuno is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
i was thinking more along the lines of the studs, saddles or something like that.
Raffel is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
could be whatever, but now just stretch your strings and see what happens.
nuno is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 01:02 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,700
Fully stretched is absolutely the first place to start, your other Flayds must not have been floating. The complete checklist for reference

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setu..._stability.htm
Rich is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
cheers Rich.

Weird thing is, i've never had to do something like this with the floyd i used to have. Same strings

Anyway, i'll get right on it
Raffel is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-11-2004, 02:55 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,700
If they weren't floating it wasn't as critical
Rich is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2004, 04:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
alright i've been stretching strings for about an hour total, all it gets me is a very high raised brigde. It seems like i can stretch a string all over again when i go to the next one. tuning up tuning up, so it's kind of logical for the bridge to raise. On the other hand, it's not.

Judging by the fact that i broke the high e once, i think i'm definetly putting enough tension on the strings..
Raffel is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2004, 05:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
ok, now stretch'em all without tuning them. things will change.
nuno is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2004, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
oh great, now i did something incredibly stupid.

look at this:



I tightened it a bit too much apparently

is this the following part?

2LE2-13K CK ARM HOLDER $12.00

If so, where can i get it? I'm a EU resident, so i should probably get it from the Ibanez importer in my country right?
Raffel is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2004, 06:16 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 522
Reviews: 1
are you stretching the strings with the whammy bar?
tony777 is offline  
Reply

Tags
arm holder , double edge trem , edge trem , equipped guitar , floyd rose , ibanez dealer , lock nut , music store , pro edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge ----> Double Edge swap Guitarmattms All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 01-10-2012 07:51 AM
Double Edge Problem aerocol Pickups & wiring 4 06-28-2004 10:26 PM
Double edge problem! tony777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 05-20-2004 11:14 PM
Modding a 3120 and the double edge - I want to put a Double CDNICKCD Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 12-31-2001 01:17 AM
Edge Tremolo problem (RG570) - Won't stay in tune after pull jhczar All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 03-18-2001 01:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome