Low E string not staying in tune! - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-2009, 08:26 PM Thread Starter

Low E string not staying in tune!

Now before you start flaming me for not stretching strings or something..

My Strings are stretched
My trem is parallel to the body
The nut is not loose and the pads are locked down securely
The saddle's are locked down as well and aren't moving anytime soon.

So..
I recently got my S back up and running (thanks to Rich for providing me the part!)
And just finished stringing it up last night.

I guess because it was so late yesterday I didn't notice this problem but when I started playing it today it was pretty noticeable.

Whenever I do a divebomb, the low E string goes a good half step down. It goes back in tune with a quick pull up but I can't seem to be able to fix it indefinitely.

After like half an hour of tinkering I've that if I push down where the red arrow is pointing, the trem goes back into tune. I'm not sure how to fix this...

Any help would be great :O
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-05-2009, 05:02 PM Thread Starter

Re: Low E string not staying in tune!

anybody..?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-05-2009, 09:37 PM

On each side of where your E string is located on the saddle.....where it bends/pivots, make sure that is moving freely, lube it if you have to. Also...(I had this problem with my low B on my 7), use some chap stick under the string on the saddle as well as up at the nut in the groove under the string. Try that and see what happens......
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-05-2009, 10:46 PM
Vendor

Make sure the hinge of the saddle is lubricated, and that it's seating against the top lip of the fine tuner. You do have the spring in the saddle right?
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2009, 09:26 AM Thread Starter