Need help setting up pl1660 - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-14-2016, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: austin
Posts: 8
Need help setting up pl1660

Hi I have a proline 1660 I just resurrected... Problem is now it was set up for a while with 5 strings and it was never balanced until now.

When tuning my bridge comes way to far off and doesn't tune one side does then the other but just keeps pulling.... If I lower the bridge to much the strings are on the pickups
lyxen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-14-2016, 04:33 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 99
Re: Need help setting up pl1660

The proline bridges are usually a ways off the body, so yes lowering them will start to interfere with the pickups. It sounds more like you might need to adjust the trem springs though, especially if it was set properly with only 5 strings. Adding the 6th will pull the trem forward and you'll need more pull to counter it from the springs. I think both of my pl1770s have 4 springs. Also, if they're original springs, they're from the late 80s so they may just need to be replaced.
chronicinsomnia is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-15-2016, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: austin
Posts: 8
Re: Need help setting up pl1660

Thanks I worked it out.. Now just to give it a final set up.. This thing rocks!!!!
lyxen is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-15-2016, 07:59 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tn
Posts: 662
Reviews: 4
Re: Need help setting up pl1660

Cool....glad it worked out. Prolines are are GREAT guitars.There are a few of us "proline nuts" on here. We need pics

Last edited by jl2556; 01-15-2016 at 08:00 PM. Reason: .
jl2556 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: austin
Posts: 8
Re: Need help setting up pl1660

Uhh I can't post pics but I have a few on my Facebook.com/lyxen2 I can email you pics if you want
lyxen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NGD: 1985 Ibanez PL1660 Scott 74 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 15 03-28-2017 03:12 PM
Need help setting up pl1660 lyxen All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 01-21-2016 04:03 PM
NGD/Restore-PL1660 (Flying V) apadua Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 45 01-27-2015 08:17 PM
For Sale Ibanez PL1660 Proline V stringplinker Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 11-13-2010 05:35 PM
Any problem setting up for BEADGB? - Any problem setting up Pudreaux Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 2 06-28-2001 02:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome