Is this possible? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 04:27 AM Thread Starter

Is this possible?

When adjusting trem springs to set angle, is it possible if done badly, to make it so that the bridge is leaning down, ie from bass strings>treble strings?

Because I fear I have done this , and the action/intonation is out of whack now on my b/e strings

any remedies

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 05:17 AM

Are you sure both sides of the trem are seated properly on the trem posts?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 06:00 AM Thread Starter

Im not sure really, im new to floating trems,
how could I check this?
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 07:03 AM

if you look at the trem posts (the parts that the trem pivots about) there will be a groove on each one that the trem knife edges (pivots) should sit it, ensure that both sides of the trem are correctly in those grooves.
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 09:19 AM

click on the swirly banner at the top of this page and follow it to a tutorial on setting up an Edge trem. it is extremely helpful to learn ALL the little details when setting up a floating system and Rich's site gives you all the info you need.

Music is something bigger and greater than myself and I'm just glad to be a part of it. -TJ

A wise man once told me, "never discuss politics or religion in a disco enviroment" -Frank Zappa
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2004, 12:15 PM