Pro Rock'R to Edge - direct swap? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-2004, 09:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 663
Pro Rock'R to Edge - direct swap?

Well the Subject line pretty much sums it up. I may be getting an old Rhandy Roads model and have a spare edge trem flying around here.
The thing that is of particular interest to me is the distance between the Anchors!
(Yes, I know the Pro-Rock'R isn't recessed, but that shouldn't be a problem)
horstausmforst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-2004, 10:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
i think they have slightly different distances, but i'm not positive on that.
nuno is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-2004, 12:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,895
No go. The studs are farther apart, and the actual studs themselves are different. They don't have a knife edge. Instead they have a rounded cove, and the trem has an hourglass shaped insert. These are pretty bad for returning to pitch, but just fine if you block them or seat them against the body, and just do dives. I have had lots of these and still have 2 guitars with the pro-rockers. The best thing to do is clean the studs and the insert edges, and lube them with something heavy, like a silicone gel. WD-40 and other spray lubes are too thin.
It's actually an ingenious bridge design, like most Japanese product hardware it's over-designed and I love that. You can adjust everything, and then it all locks into place for stability and tone. And it's locking but you leave the ball ends on. (they've come full circle haven't they?) If it had knife edge inserts it would be on par with anything else out there.
frankfalbo is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-24-2004, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 663
Thanks guys!
horstausmforst is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge trem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB or Trade: A Chrome Edge, or swap for Cosmo Edge. clar-v-d Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 11-17-2011 06:27 AM
Will a Gotoh Floyd fit as a direct swap for an edge pro do you know? themaidenmaniac All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 5 10-22-2010 09:14 PM
JS100 bridge swap??? Edge Pro / Edge Pro II n7uqa Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 8 06-04-2009 11:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome