Project: If an Ibanez DSY RG550 & RG1527 Had a Baby... - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-15-2015, 07:47 PM Thread Starter

Project: If an Ibanez DSY RG550 & RG1527 Had a Baby...

Project Overview

I've always wanted a 7-string version of a DSY Ibanez RG550... right down to the maple fretboard. It's a project I've been dragging ass on for several years now as I've slowly accumulated the parts I need.

Ben Eller's RFR 7-string project not only got me inspired, it obliterated my last 2 roadblocks: where to get a neck made, and what paint to use.

Now that those mysteries are solved, this project is once again under way... and dare I say could possibly be completed this year. I'll use this thread to document the build (which will be done primarily by Atomic Guitar Works here in Phoenix, AZ).

Design Philosophy

Now, in general, my philosophy is to stay reasonably true to the aesthetic of the early RG550's. This means sticking with some of the main trappings... such as pickguard, maple fretboard, old style knobs, etc. If I deviate too far from that philosophy, then it sorta ceases to be an "RG550" and is instead just a heavily modded Ibanez.

HOWEVER, that said, I'm still making a few "enhancements" and exceptions here and there. Obviously, this'll have an Edge Pro. It'll also have 2 humbuckers. There will also be a few other neat surprises for you, which will be revealed with this story...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-15-2015, 07:48 PM Thread Starter

Re: Project: If an Ibanez DSY RG550 & RG1527 Had a Baby...

Acquiring a Body

Quite some time ago (about 4 years ago, I think), I got a steal of a deal on a 2007 RG1527 body. I snatched it off the 'bay as the platform for my RG550 project. I've always loved the older 1527's (which is why I own two, not including this one).