Real time guitar Tab!! - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 05:12 PM Thread Starter

Real time guitar Tab!!

Hi all! I'm currently a Computer Engineering College student looking to develop a software that implements real time tab writing. I want guitarists to be able to play their guitar and a tab be written through a software.

Is there a current technology that already exists that I could reference? If not, does anyone have any idea how I could get started? Any equipment I would need to troubleshoot, etc. Any help would be appreciated. Also keep in mind I am pretty novice when it comes to guitar equipment, but very willing to learn. I have been playing guitar for 4 years through mostly my own teaching. Any references to articles and books would be very beneficial as well!!!!!

Anthony
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 05:48 PM

Re: Real time guitar Tab!!

I don't know any names of programs, but I'm sure there are programs that can recognize played notes. Both single notes and chords. Displaying them on charts is no problem (just program it correctly...), making a correct - or at least sensible tabulatur is harder. The reason is, as you probably know already, that the same note can be played on several areas on the fretboard. Thus making it harder to decide where it should be played. Where it is played can often be based on technique used, chords played (if only one guitar), the surrounding notes... There are many variables. Are there too many? I don't know. You tell me!

I would be surprised if a program that was 100% correct was developed. If it also was usable in such a way that it could transcribe a guitar straight from a CD, that would be nice. Would I have any use for such a program? No, unfortunately not. I'm sure there are many who could find it useful.