Reducing bass frequency in neck pickup - Any ideas? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-06-2001, 05:40 PM Thread Starter

Reducing bass frequency in neck pickup - Any ideas?

The neck pickup is a little too bottom heavy and not enough mid, so I'm wondering if there is a way to alter the frequencies using some kind of electrical gadgetry (resistors, capacitors, etc...)

Lowering the pickup isn't an option as it's already as low as possible. *Exchanging the pickup isn't an option as they only make 7 string pickups on a per-order basis. *If I were to have a custom made pickup it still may not sound the way I'd like (plus it's expensive).

Am I stuck with eq'ing my amp?

Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-07-2001, 02:33 AM

Reducing bass frequency in neck pickup

I'm no engineer, but I think it's possible to use caps as hi/lo pass filters.
I've got a cap wired to my both guitars' vol pot (I guess) so that when I turn the vol down the highs stay but bass is cut off. Using an Air Norton, which can get a bit muddy, I'm able to get a nice lead sound w/the vol at about 8. It cuts off a bit of bass , but there's enough vol to get a hi-gain sound.
Less "hi-tech" way might be trying to balance the bridge & neck pickups (height adjustment), and then eq'ing the amp. *
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-07-2001, 05:51 AM

You can use low / high pass filters to shape your sound, but you do need to design them properly...