Refinishing Question(s) - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 11:18 AM Thread Starter

Refinishing Question(s)

Some of you may have seen this guitar elsewhere. As a project, I have an Apex II that I'd like to do this to:

I have no experience with something like this... but it looks pretty rustic so I'm confident I can't screw it up too badly. However, I wanted to get people's thoughts on the best method to remove the paint. Torch? Chemicals? Sanding?

Also looking for suggestions on what kind of sealer, oil, stain, etc. would achieve this effect. I might also like to go a little darker... or at the extreme, go really dark like the M8M.

FYI, I have no tools, or supplies, so I'll have to rent and/or buy whatever is needed.

And in the photo below, I'm curious about the aftermarket logo. Is there possibly a clear coat over it that I'm just not seeing? Otherwise, seems like it would eventually start peeling off.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 11:32 AM

Re: Refinishing Question(s)

Stew Mac (stewart mcdonald) is a good resource for projects like this.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 11:40 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by 63Blazer View Post
Stew Mac (stewart mcdonald) is a good resource for projects like this.
Right, I buy most of my general repair/maintenance items there. I just need to know what to buy, best method, etc. Are you saying I should call and ask their advice, or...?
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 11:59 AM

Reviews: 1

They've got tons of tutorials, look through here and you'll probably find what you're looking for: http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo.html
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 12:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmaestro View Post