Replacement tubes for Marshall preamp stage - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-28-2004, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
Contributor
 
jemaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,851
Reviews: 1
Replacement tubes for Marshall preamp stage

Has anyone replaced the preamp tubes in an AVT150 head?

I believe you can dramatically improve the sound with a different type of 12AX7. Has anyone tried it yet and what did you finally pick for replacement?

Thanks.
jemaholic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-29-2004, 01:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 1,813
My friend has a Laney that we replaced the preamp tube. We chose a Mesa just for fun but it made the gain stage sound a smidge smoother with more growl (if that makes sense). Then in his Carvin MTS3200 we replaced all the tubes with JJ tubes and it sounds very nice. Huge improvement over the old tubes and the "old" tubes were barely 3 months old. So IMO I like JJ's over Sovtec tubes. And I enjoy Mesa tubes as well for preamp tubes.
RSVampire is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-09-2004, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Contributor
 
jemaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,851
Reviews: 1
Well, so much for my theory...I've recieved the definitive word ...
don't bother- it's a different 1st stage than an all-tube head and wouldn't be soniclly worth it.

Oh well,

Anyone wanna buy a new AVT150 head?
jemaholic is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-11-2004, 04:02 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemaholic
Well, so much for my theory...I've recieved the definitive word ...
don't bother- it's a different 1st stage than an all-tube head and wouldn't be soniclly worth it.

Oh well,

Anyone wanna buy a new AVT150 head?
who told you that, Marshall themselves?

I'm suprised they're actually admitting what I've been ranting and raving about all along- with only a single preamp tube, it's essentially an all-solid-state amp.

-D
Drew is offline  
Reply

Tags
preamp tube , tube head

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TUBE LOT: 8 Power Tubes, 12+ Preamp Tubes ibanezcollector Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 03-25-2013 06:23 PM
My preamp tubes(mesa and groove tubes) for your pickups or what do ya got ibanezcollector Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 4 10-31-2006 08:04 PM
Marshall AVT Replacement Pre-amp Tubes?? jemaholic Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 10-01-2004 09:56 AM
Marshall DSL 100 -- Tone problem = Preamp Tubes? JohnnyRasgueado Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 05-21-2004 08:01 PM
Can these preamp tubes be used for my Marshall amp??? - It's firegarden Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 12-17-2001 10:57 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome