Replacing bridge with a Floyd Rose - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2004, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 76
Replacing bridge with a Floyd Rose

hey i have a GSA60 and it has the normal tremolo bridge...i want to replace it with a Low Profile Orig. Floyd Rose...i know i have to route a new cavity for it...the only thing i'm not sure of is how to place the locking nut...since there is no place to put it flat, coz it would cause the first fret to be shorter if i put it in the normal way, so i was thinking of puting it kinda like at an angle following the wood ... i saw this kind of placement somewhere on the net but i can't recall where...

here's a little diagram to show you what i mean.





so do you guys think this would work or not...[/img]
dex_ibanez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2004, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,234
Don't do this with a normal floyd nut. The strings will try to pull upp the lock nuts, and you'd need a string tree pretty much screwed down to the wood to make it work. Then you'd be unable to string it. I'd do a behind the nut lock if you can't mill a good flat shelf.

Or get some Sperzels or other locking tuners and a Graphite nut.

A distant 3rd choice would be what you plan, but using a nut that has guides that keep the string against the nut.
JESTER700 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2004, 09:41 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 690
Actually, it should have a 'shim' block of wood added on the curve of the headstock to support the nut, and have it milled along with the existing wood to creat a perfectly flat nut shelf. The nut will give all kinds of tuning-up grief because of the upward pull of the strings on the lock pads (as Jester700 said).
steve is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-11-2004, 01:43 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
Posts: 469
i agree with steve. there should be a shim under the floyd nut to sort of prop it up so it sits flat. i wouldn't mount it on an angle like in your diagram.

also, i think fender or somebody makes a locking nut that's really small to fit it a nut slot. i seem to remember seeing something like that a while back ago.

john
john1880 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-11-2004, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 76
thanks guys....i think i would be able to mount it flat...since my neck and headstock is kinda like a Fender's ... i saw a how to on it and it looks like it would fit...

http://www.vhfans.com/boards/showfla...187/Main/22099

dex_ibanez is offline  
Reply

Tags
floyd rose , graphite nut , lock nut , locking nut , locking tuners , string tree , tremolo bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing a FAT 10 bridge with a Floyd irg7620 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-22-2007 07:02 PM
MIJ 2002 RGR450LTD replacing TRS w/ Floyd Rose Pro Question LynchBox Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-10-2007 08:31 PM
Replacing Edge with Original Floyd Rose 540s Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 01-31-2007 03:49 PM
Replacing a Floyd/Edge with a fixed bridge - Is it possible? babahi Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 19 12-21-2001 11:20 AM
Replacing RB2 Bridge with an original Floyd AlexVoyager Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 08-12-2001 08:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome