Replacing the bridge on an RG370DX - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Replacing the bridge on an RG370DX

Hi, I'm new.

I have an RG370DX and I hate the bridge.
I got it for my birthday, and it is well out of my range in terms of both skill and understanding.

I want to replace the bridge (blasphemy I'm sure) with a fixed one.
Is this possible, what sort could I consider replacing it with and how successful is it likely to be?

I'm assuming it won't affect anything else, such as sound etc. I am looking forward to having a guitar that I can actually play and tune and generally enjoy, rather than feeling frustrated every time I pick it up.

I will keep the bridge so I can put it back on later if I want, but right now there's nothing I can do with it. To make matters worse, it was second hand and didn't come with The Tool. Being an absolute beginner, I really don't need the hassle.

All help appreciated, thanks.

(I have looked for a thread on this and I can't find one, so if I have missed something, could you post the link to the relevant topic and delete this? Thanks. )
artful_junkie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 06:08 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
Posts: 469
hi,
my suggestion would be to block the bridge. put a piece of would in the back between the bridge and the body, then tighten the spring claw screws all the way and add more if you have to. It will be like having a fixed bridge and may even improve the sound. This way you keep it original and don't have to do any modifications.
also, there is something called a hipshot tremsetter that i use on my floyd rose bridges. it installs pretty easily with minor modification to the bridge cavity. it helps, but it's still not a fixed bridge. hope this helps.

john
john1880 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
Posts: 469
sorry, that's a piece of WOOD...not would. duh...
john1880 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Hey there, cheers for your reply dude.

My main problem is the complexity of the bridge rather than the fact that it is floating, ie: I can't tune it vey well, alter the action / intonation at all and after reading some tutorials I am even more confused and very daunted. My gripe is not that the bridge floats, but that its a pain in the butt!!

So when I said I wanted a fixed bridge, what I meant was I wanted a basic one!! On reading my post I realise I didn't explain very well, but thanks very much for your input

EDIT: spelling mistake
artful_junkie is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2004, 11:39 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daytona, FL
Posts: 1,917
Um, replacing the bridge with a fixed bridge would involve filling the entire cavity on the face of the guitar (Possibly refinishing it), then installing a new bridge.

It would be far better to sell the guitar and buy a used or new RG321 that already has a fixed bridge, IMO.
toshiro is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-07-2004, 01:12 AM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,006
Toshiro read my mind, def go for the rg321. It is a favorite around here because of its simplicity.
Kontalonis is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-07-2004, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Thankyou, looking at the guitar now, I see what you mean about having to fill the cavity.

I'll look into a replacement, cheers!
artful_junkie is offline  
Reply

Tags
claw screws , fixed bridge , floyd rose , floyd rose bridge , hipshot tremsetter

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing bridge pup in PGM 301 Josh_P Pickups & wiring 1 11-05-2011 09:29 AM
Replacing the bridge pick up hp29 Pickups & wiring 2 09-12-2010 01:58 PM
Replacing the bridge of a RG 7321? NEED fixed bridge Mr.WizardNeck All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 03-07-2008 07:45 AM
replacing 7321 bridge to 7621 bridge possible? slash_88 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 12-27-2007 10:55 PM
replacing a FAT 10 bridge with a Floyd irg7620 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-22-2007 07:02 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome