Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

Is it posible? I want to put a tremolo on a Mick Thomson Sig, MTM1.

Last edited by twooos; 10-22-2007 at 08:41 AM.
twooos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 04:27 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 1,457
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

Sure it's possible -- with a lot of routing. Then you can send your Edge FX to me.
ryanb is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

Isnt it already routed out?
twooos is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 04:29 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

It is impossible to put an edge into an FX bridge as there is no spring cavity at the back

its gonna be fixed bridge unless you spend a lot of money on getting it routed

You are better off buying a tremolo equipped guitar
wildchild247 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

ahh crap.
twooos is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 06:28 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

It's not impossible, it's just tedious. If you have the money, by all means go for it.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

No i dont have the money. Im only 15 . And about to splash out on a 5150 Boogie rig.
twooos is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 1,813
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

if you're worried about money... sell the guitar and buy an RG with a trem and put EMG pickups in it... a lot cheaper than modifying your current guitar.
RSVampire is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

Yeah i but like the look of the "SEVEN" and the redness of the guitar.

Last edited by twooos; 10-22-2007 at 08:41 AM. Reason: typo
twooos is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:27 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

So, you're 15, have no money and are about to buy a 5150 Boogie? Wow, kids these days have it made.

My advice is to be content with the guitar you have. That "Seven" axe is not cheap by any means, so whether it was a gift from your parents or something you saved money for, learn to appreciate it and use it to its full potential before you go modifying it severely and try to put in a tremolo just to make it look cooler.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

HAHA, no its not what you think lol. Im not one of those spoilt little goons. .

And i have earned all this money. I buy stuff for cheap, sell it on for a little more. Like computers, electronics , and musical gear.

And i get the money to buy those, by saving up birthday money, working, e.t.c.

5150 head and a Mesa Boogie cab isnt all that expensive either. I can get them for half the RRP, new, from some shops in Japan. (im moving to Cambodia, and its relatively easy to get from there to Japan).

I think its time for a new guitar, so im going to buy one, and damn right am i going to modify it.

I want a tremolo not only because it looks sexy, but because i use the tremolo a lot in my playing.

I want the sustainer because ive seen videos of them in action, and i want one. No, im not going to borrow the money off my parents. No, i dont want all this gear to have an excuse to act "Metal".

Thank you.
twooos is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:49 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

It's great that you're buying your own gear but, if you wanted a guitar with a trem on it, you should've bought it from the beginning instead of buying one with a fixed bridge.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

I havnt bought it yet lol.
twooos is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2007, 02:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 206
Re: Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by twooos View Post
Yeah i but like the look of the "SEVEN" and the redness of the guitar.
It would be easier to buy some red RG with a trem and then get the "Seven" custom inlayed than it would to get the guitar modded for a trem.
TommyGuitar is offline  
Reply

Tags
equipped guitar , fixed bridge , mesa boogie , spring cavity

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing my Lo TRS II with an Edge trem - do I have to repl Jimi D Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 02-16-2009 09:54 PM
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? twooos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 10-21-2007 07:06 PM
Is Joe Statriani using an EDGE Bridge in his JS1200CA? greggmetal Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 70 12-13-2006 06:48 PM
New Edge III bridge in JS models?? chemicalmagical Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 17 05-26-2005 04:13 AM
How does the Lo-Pro Edge and Edge bridge differ? SatrianiVai All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 5 11-24-2001 10:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome