replacing my RG321mh bridge - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2009, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 589
replacing my RG321mh bridge

I have a RG321mh and Im planning to change out the bridge for it.anyone know if a fender Gotoh bridge with 2 1/8 string spacing work properly?thanks...

...Sean
Boombatty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2009, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1,056
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

why exactly do you want to change it?
Homebake is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2009, 02:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canadian in Cambridge, MA
Posts: 479
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

yes, why do you want to change it, and how do you like the 321mh tone?
andrewgosline is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2009, 02:10 PM
Moderator
 
jim777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 9,689
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

If you haven't sanded the gloss finish off the back of the neck yet do that first. More bang for the buck change than touching the bridge. that said, I'm not sure about the Gotoh replacement. I haven't considered changing the bridge on mine yet.
jim777 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2009, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 1,178
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

You could probably just change the saddles if you wanted . . .
ColinMmmmm is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2009, 06:09 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,676
Reviews: 1
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

I replaced the bridges on both of my PGM301s with the Gotoh hardtail Strat bridges that Stew Mac sells. They are an exact replacement.
toneboy is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-21-2009, 01:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 589
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

thanks for the insight guys.as for the reason im considering replacing it I figured I could get some better tuning stability and possibly some more sustain by doing so.I will be purchasing some locking tuners soon as well.

Take care
Sean
Boombatty is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-21-2009, 12:05 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

Replacing the bridge with the same thing is not going to make any difference in sustain.

You could replace the saddles with steel, and that will brighten up the sound some.

I have used these with good success.

http://store.guitarfetish.com/upststsafitr.html
Ayrton is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-21-2009, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 589
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrton View Post
Replacing the bridge with the same thing is not going to make any difference in sustain.

You could replace the saddles with steel, and that will brighten up the sound some.

I have used these with good success.

http://store.guitarfetish.com/upststsafitr.html

I will definately look into these
Boombatty is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canadian in Cambridge, MA
Posts: 479
Re: replacing my RG321mh bridge

sounds like you're going in the right direction. And thanks for the pm about how you like the tone. I'm so happy with my first RG modification, I might do it again, but without a floyd-floating trem. I'm glad you like yours. Consider adding the piezo string savers??? Just a thought. I'd love to do that..
andrewgosline is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bridge replacement for my RG321mh Boombatty All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 11-21-2009 11:58 AM
Trouble on finding an RG321mh Bridge. GuitarEvan07 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 6 03-26-2008 03:17 PM
Replacing the bridge of a RG 7321? NEED fixed bridge Mr.WizardNeck All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 03-07-2008 07:45 AM
replacing 7321 bridge to 7621 bridge possible? slash_88 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 12-27-2007 10:55 PM
replacing a FAT 10 bridge with a Floyd irg7620 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-22-2007 07:02 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome