Replacing Zero Edge bridge help - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-24-2011, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Peru
Posts: 17
Replacing Edge Zero Tremolo help

Hello, I'm planning to buy a brand new RG3570Z since i love it's blue color so much, but the yellow pickups and selectors don't look good for me, I guess that's not a problem to get them replaced. However, thinkin about replacing the Edge Zero bridge w/ZPS3 the guitar comes with with the original Edge tremolo (model 2ED1R31K cosmo black) is something i really don't know if it can be done to look and work like factory made, I mean there's something called routing for these cases (if I'm not wrong), but if the guitar needs it I'm afraid there's a chance (even if it's small) for the guitar to get damaged permanently or something like that. Can anyone tell me if this is really possible without having a chance of failing in the process or after some years of playing?

Last edited by satchtabber; 12-24-2011 at 05:50 PM.
satchtabber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-24-2011, 08:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 204
Re: Replacing Zero Edge bridge help

If I'm not mistaken the body would need rerouted to fit the original edge. I believe the stud spacing is also different so you'd have to fill the stud holes and redrill them in the correct location. Not a project that will leave the finish of the guitar undamaged.
gideond is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2011, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 475
Re: Replacing Zero Edge bridge help

The Edge Zero bridge is very nice. It just gets a lot of bad rap from the older players who hate anything new. If you're worried about the ZPS3, it comes out very easily (it's made to go in and out without any tools), and you'll have a full floating guitar. I'd say get the guitar and keep it in there. I would change out all that awful yellow though.
xXLinkageXx is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2011, 12:45 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NH
Posts: 3
Re: Replacing Zero Edge bridge help

i dont think you would see a great advantage changing it out.buying a new guitar and changing pick up,changing tremolo,next you will want stainless frets,its never ending.Been there for 35 yrs.
EdgE52 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-25-2011, 01:11 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brooksville, Florida
Posts: 230
Reviews: 13
Re: Replacing Zero Edge bridge help

Yeahh, Im going with xxLinkagexx here, remove the stop bar and change the yellow, and you will have a pretty sweet guitar.
DownHomeRock is offline  
Reply

Tags
prestige zero edge rich

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing the bridge of a RG 7321? NEED fixed bridge Mr.WizardNeck All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 03-07-2008 07:45 AM
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? twooos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 13 10-28-2007 02:29 AM
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? twooos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 10-21-2007 07:06 PM
Replacing a Floyd/Edge with a fixed bridge - Is it possible? babahi Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 19 12-21-2001 11:20 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome