Retuning locking trem - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By JsXLine6
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Retuning locking trem

I'm considering buying an RG550, but I've never owned a guitar with a locking trem before.

I frequently switch tunings on my guitar between standard, flat, drop d, etc and I'm wondering whether this causes problems with a locking trem?
stralytic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 09:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,252
Reviews: 120
Re: Retuning locking trem

Like any floating bridge, you're going to have a harder time re-tuning, then add in the locking components, and there's a little more work again. re-adjusting spring tension due to the floating bridge, etc. If you regularly go between tunings, more than just Drop D then a hardtail may be your better option.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 05:05 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 135
Re: Retuning locking trem

It's not very practical to keep switching tunings with a locking system - I found it a good reason to have multiple guitars
Mattww is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 07:32 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Ben Eller has the best YouTube tutorial on tuning changes and string changes with a Floyd bridge. Will give you a good idea what's involved.

It's a pain for any more than drop D.
Especially if you're recording and really picky about intonation.

I have a hard tail JS1600 for odd tunings..

Other option is a tremelo no, so you can make the guitar hard tail when you want to move out of standard and floating when back in standard.
ibaraki_gaijin is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:55 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 191
You could definitely get a tremolno like he said. I use it on my JS. It allows you to use your floating trem as a free float, dive only, or fixed bridge with a turn of a couple thumb screws. Super convenient.
JsXLine6 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 10:55 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 598
Re: Retuning locking trem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibaraki_gaijin View Post
Ben Eller has the best YouTube tutorial on tuning changes and string changes with a Floyd bridge. Will give you a good idea what's involved.

It's a pain for any more than drop D.
Especially if you're recording and really picky about intonation.

I have a hard tail JS1600 for odd tunings..

Other option is a tremelo no, so you can make the guitar hard tail when you want to move out of standard and floating when back in standard.
If you are picky about intonation you have to intonate hard tail too ! Only difference is that with tremolo you have to adjust spring claw.
peromucho7 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 11:30 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by peromucho7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibaraki_gaijin View Post
Ben Eller has the best YouTube tutorial on tuning changes and string changes with a Floyd bridge. Will give you a good idea what's involved.

It's a pain for any more than drop D.
Especially if you're recording and really picky about intonation.

I have a hard tail JS1600 for odd tunings..

Other option is a tremelo no, so you can make the guitar hard tail when you want to move out of standard and floating when back in standard.
If you are picky about intonation you have to intonate hard tail too ! Only difference is that with tremolo you have to adjust spring claw.
With a JS1600 style hard tail adjusting intonation is a 5 min job with a screwdriver and a good tuner.

On an edge bridge the claw gets the bridge level again. But you need to slide the saddles forward\backwards to perfect the intonation which is trickier. Won't notice a difference with E To E flat or drop D.
Bigger changes and you'll need to in my experience...
ibaraki_gaijin is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 12:51 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 598
Re: Retuning locking trem

If you push down tremolo bar, and slack strings with one hand, you can unscrew, move, then screw saddle with another.
peromucho7 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by peromucho7 View Post
If you push down tremolo bar, and slack strings with one hand, you can unscrew, move, then screw saddle with another.
Does that work?
This is the one process I've found to be a real pain with an edge. I've got all mine set up quite nicely already. So I don't have a guitar that needs intonating to try it on. I'll have to buy another to give it a try 😄
ibaraki_gaijin is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Re: Retuning locking trem

Quote:
Originally Posted by peromucho7 View Post
If you are picky about intonation you have to intonate hard tail too ! Only difference is that with tremolo you have to adjust spring claw.
I currently have a strat with it's bridge hard against the body. I never use the trem.

It sounds fine when i retune anywhere from standard down to drop c.

I'm thinking of getting a S521 now.
stralytic is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 191
Take a look at digitechs drop pedal. I use one. It drops in half step increments down to a full octave. And it also has a octaver, pretty useful pedal. I love it because I love using a floating trem! Makes life easier.
peromucho7 and califj like this.
JsXLine6 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 04:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Re: Retuning locking trem

Quote:
Originally Posted by JsXLine6 View Post
Take a look at digitechs drop pedal. I use one. It drops in half step increments down to a full octave. And it also has a octaver, pretty useful pedal. I love it because I love using a floating trem! Makes life easier.
I tried one of them back in the 90s and I found it delayed and distorted the signal too much. The signal sounded somehow synthetic, and the delay from input to output was disturbing enough to put off my playing.

I assume they have significantly improved?
stralytic is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 06:24 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 191
Re: Retuning locking trem

Yes it's definitely improved greatly. I know what you mean about them sounding synthetic. My father had a Whammy pedal when I was a teenager in the early 2000's that would drop as wellz and it sounded terrible. Check out a review or video on youtube. You may be pleasantly surprised. I was!
JsXLine6 is offline  
Reply

Tags
tremolo , tuning

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome