Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Gex
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 962
Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire?

Ive got some Dimarzios coming in the mail for my RG550.


Im probably gonna re-wire the entire thing.


I was going to use Radio Shack's copper hookup wire.

Is this wire any good? I know Radio Shack's stuff is generally cheap, so it worries me.

Also, what guage is optimal? Solid Or Stranded?

or does it really make a difference at all?

Thanks.
Gex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 06:02 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 1,747
Re: Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire?

I have stranded wire in my strat. I got it by slicing up a high class lead.
Tom Gilroy is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hamburg, NJ
Posts: 417
Re: Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire?

If I am not using shielded wire, I use the wires from an Ethernet cable. I just cut the sheath off and have 4 pairs to choose from. The wire is stranded and thin enough that you can easily insert them into the pot openings as well as the mini switch openings. A 10 foot cable will last forever or about 20 guitar wiring jobs. The only pain is that you have to be really careful when stripping the ends.
lhrocker is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-11-2005, 01:01 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 1,747
Re: Rewiring Job: What wire is good wire?

Use a soldering iron to melt off the end. You won't hurt the copper wire and it cuts throught the enamal sheath fast.
Tom Gilroy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewiring entire guitar, new pups, 5way selector, pots, wire etc... Kirk Kirkwood Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 03-19-2012 05:01 AM
Is there a specific type of wire needed to wire a guitar? IBNZ_RG Pickups & wiring 6 04-18-2010 01:48 AM
How could I wire this if possible? -Rhaab Pickups & wiring 2 03-01-2008 11:37 PM
wire... viva Pickups & wiring 0 08-29-2003 12:17 PM
Replacing a 2 wire pup(V8) w/ a 4 wire (evo) - Installing an floydJ Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 08-07-2001 12:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome