RG 620X Wiring Problem - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
RG 620X Wiring Problem

Just got an RG 620X (this is turning into a nightmare.)

There is a horrible grounding problem. Strange thing is that it is only in the magnetic pickups. When I have the switch set to piezo only, there is no hum.

I opened up the electronics cavities, and trem cavity to see if something was loose or missing. There is no ground wire soldered to the trem claw, as is commonly found on every RG I've ever owned.

So, question is, did someone forget to ground to the trem claw, or is it supposed to be like that and am I to look elsewhere for a problem?

Any input is greatly appreciated.
kirk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 79
I'd assume (maybe incorrectly) that the piezo circuitry grounds the bridge. Is there a hole for a grounding wire to get from the cavity to the trem claw? Try soldering in a ground wire to the claw from the back of the volume control. I doubt it would hurt. If all else fails, you'll just have to sell it to me
kabuki is offline  
post #3 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
Kirk + Soldering Iron + Guitar = fecal matter with strings and a piezo bridge.

There are holes from the electronics cavity to the trem cavity, but they are also needed for the piezo wires, so I can't make a judgement based on a hole.

Warranty service....damn, I just got the thing - another plug for Ibanez Rules. You get whatcha pay for......
kirk is offline  
post #4 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 03:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,215
For what it's worth, have you checked out your other gear? I had a similar problem with trying to use my Parker with an amp and a PA.

If i tried connecting the XLR output from my SansAmp Acoustic DI into the mixer, hum from hell. But with the 1/4" out, it wasn't a problem... i'm guessing there were some impedence or grounding issues between all the pieces of gear being used.
darren wilson is offline  
post #5 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 03:27 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 227
Check your email.

Cheers,
Butch
butch is offline  
post #6 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
It's not the other gear, checked at your urging.

I've tried both outputs jacks seperately and simultaneously, and it happens only when using the magnetic pickups.

Butch nothing in the mail box, could you have sent it to someone else?

On a more pleasant note, the piezos sound awesome!!!!
kirk is offline  
post #7 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 09:12 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,429
Kirk-
So....you finally got one. :-)

IM (or call) me. I can walk you thru the wiring.
Kevan is offline  
post #8 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
The volume pot isn't grounded. Easy fix (for someone other than me!)

Thanks for input.
kirk is offline  
post #9 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 09:47 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,628
Come on dude, you can do it!!

So is there not supposed to be a ground to the claw on a DE?
Rich is offline  
post #10 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 10:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich
So is there not supposed to be a ground to the claw on a DE?
Yes.
Kevan is offline  
post #11 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 10:34 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,628
Yes, there is, or yes, there isn't?

[you know me and wiring, I can solder, I can follow a diagram, but that's it]
Rich is offline  
post #12 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
Yes there is supposed to be a ground wire from the volume pot to the trem claw. The DE is grounded separately.

I was told that the magnetic wiring schematic for the 520 is the same as the 620.
kirk is offline  
post #13 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-19-2002, 11:09 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,628
I thought so, but in my infinite ineptness I didn't want to say
Rich is offline  
post #14 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-20-2002, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,429
Sorry- took me a while to get the PM notice in my email, open a new window in MSIE, click on it, find the PM, log back in, go to the PM, read it, reply, proof-read, send, then log out, log back in, find this thread.
You've heard it all before. :-)

NOTICE- DO NOT USE THE BUILT-IN STUFF THE FORUM HAS TO CONTACT ME!!!! From now on, they will go unread and get deleted immediately.
If you want to contact me, use AIM (RG EGYPT) or direct email ([email protected]). DO NOT click the link for email you see on the forum pages. Thank you.

Rich- Yes: DE-equiped guitars have a ground wire soldered to the trem claw. Folks need to remember- the piezo system and the magnetic system are COMPLETELY seperate systems. The only place they come close to each other is at the 3-way mini-toggle switch.

When Kirk gets the mag. side wired up (and grounded) like a 520, the thing will be a screamer.
Kevan is offline  
post #15 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-20-2002, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
Ahhh, decided to return the guitar. It's new, I shouldn't have to rewire anything.

I'll have a new one on Thursday.
kirk is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge trem , ibanez dealer , magnetic pickups , piezo bridge , piezo system , pro edge , toggle switch , trem arm , trem claw , volume pots , wiring diagram

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring problem? HELP Gibson75 Pickups & wiring 1 07-18-2011 07:00 PM
RG 620x vs. RG1620 pikapikapi All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 08-10-2004 09:30 AM
620x setup - need help gemini8026 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-19-2003 04:40 PM
Wiring Help On RG 620x deadringer Pickups & wiring 4 03-19-2003 12:14 PM
Thoughts About the s-520ex & s-620x bapi All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 1 03-08-2003 03:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome