RG1570L Action Adjustment - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-29-2016, 10:58 PM Thread Starter

RG1570L Action Adjustment

Alright so first post! Now, down to business. I've been playing for about two years now, recently got a beautifully swirled, grey, white and black RG1570 Prestige as a Christmas gift, and some nice Dimarzio pups for it, love it but since I've been playing it, it has felt a bit constricted compared to the old Jackson I had before... This week I got a nice 470L in blue, for only $220 on eBay, and man... The action is amazing, it's super low and a lot easier to
pick, shred, tap, and just overall feels easier to play. The action is definitely lower, and after playing it all day, and going back to my Prestige, I can't stand the difference. Now, again, I've only been playing for two years, and I've fallen for Ibanez guitars since the Prestige, but with the Edge trem, (I've always been a fixed bridge player) I'm still a bit lost on how these things work. I tried adjusting the bridge post holes with my 3mm allen wrench, it didn't really change much, just raised the bridge, and the action didn't feel any different so I lowered it back down. Should I just adjust the trust rod? I've honestly never attempted a trust rod adjustment, because frankly I've hardly had the chance to actually have to, since being left handed, I haven't owned many guitars, and the ones I've had, have been setup pretty decently. Is there much I should worry about with trying to adjust it? What size allen wrench should I use to adjust it? Sorry for these noobish questions, I just don't want to deal with messing anything up since, I'm still getting used to these trem bridge systems.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-01-2016, 02:08 PM

Reviews: 1
Re: RG1570L Action Adjustment