RG570 sad days... nut not original? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 82 (permalink) Old 12-11-2015, 04:12 AM Thread Starter

RG570 sad days... nut not original?

I've been playing my RG570 for a few months now and I am not completely satisfied. After reading all these extremely positive reviews of RG550/560/570 I am sad I don't have the same experience...

I had read many comments (before purchasing) that said a Floyd Rose is a pain in the ass to change tunings. I knew what I was getting myself into, but I didn't think a change from Eb to E Standard would be difficult. Boy was I wrong. Once again I followed Rich's guide but all I did was put all the strings out of tune and the tremolo to the sky! I detuned the strings and screwed in the claw screws at RGTFanatic's suggestion. Once I started tuning again I snapped the high E. The one string I continue to break on every guitar.

Before I wanted to change tunings the guitar stayed perfectly in Eb. I abused the hell out of the tremolo bar and It came back to near perfect pitch every time. I wanted to play in Standard tuning now but as you read I did not get there...

Now I love the neck of this guitar, love the look, the pickups are versatile, though it seems many lovers of this guitar swap to DiMarzios. My biggest issue is string slippage.

The High E and low E string slip off the fretboard the higher up you go. Just a little push and it slides off making a horrible buzz noise. I don't have perfect technique and I've been trying improve my picking because of this slippage but now it's just getting annoying. Doing a run, landing on a chord in the middle of the fretboard, or pulling off to high/low E and BUZZ!