S320 (ZR bridge) - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-31-2008, 11:49 PM Thread Starter

Question S320 (ZR bridge)

Hi there, I got my new guitar this week finally, its my first Ibanez and I'll be honest Im a newbie when it comes to guitars but determined so thanks to a guide I found on this site I understand the bridge now. Here's a couple of shots of it(sorry about the jars on the second shot lol), btw Ive started polishing the body every now and with furniture polish(mr sheen with beeswax) is that all good?:

When I first recieved it I tried tuning it at the neck like a dummy and broke the top string, so I sent it in for a set up(embaressing when he told me) because there was fretbuzz aside from not being able to get it in tune. I also told him action might need sorting because of that fretbuzz. I got it back home and noticed the strings were so taut that even for me (not knowing how to change my strat set up when I moved to 11s last year and I just assumed it was normal with those strings and stuck with it) it was pretty difficult to play(maybe I should have just left it as he set it up?). So I decided to see if I could change it a bit as I wasnt convinced he'd done a thorough job(it didnt appear he'd altered the springs even though I gave him a set of 11s to do it with unless its not always necessary?), and thats when I had to come find this place lol, well I had to learn sooner or later right?

I found a guide one of the members here did on the ZR particularly helpful, if only I had checked before I messed with it because then I could have known by checking if the bridge was parallel if he'd done a good job on it or not. So reading the manual that came with it, I tried changing the action along with getting the bridge level with the body and Im not sure either are as good as they could be: