Sanding vs. Wool - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 08:26 PM Thread Starter

Sanding vs. Wool

I'm in the middle of another project and just shot the last of my paint. I was picking up supplies and saw some 0000 wool next to the tack cloth so I picked some up. I have never used wool before so I'm wondering what are the pros and cons of wool vs. wet sanding and which is prefered. Also when is it okay to use wool? Is it good for the final paint sanding before clear or just after clear is done? Thanks jemsters!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:19 PM
Vendor

Re: Sanding vs. Wool

Steel wool should never be used on paint you're intending to polish, at any stage of the job.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 08:40 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Steel wool should never be used on paint you're intending to polish, at any stage of the job.
good to know. Thank you!
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 12:54 PM

if you use it, make sure you put tape over the pickups. hard to get off the magnets
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 01:36 PM

I have used 000 and 0000 wool between coats of polyurethane clear coats with great results. I cannot comment on paint, stick with rich's recommendations, as he's usually right. If you start working with poly clearcoats, steel wool is less messy, lasts longer, and conforms to the guitar's curves better than sandpaper for roughing in between coats (i've found). I've been warned away from steel wool with waterbased products, though.

A
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewgosline View Post