Seymore Duncan vs. Dimarzio - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-24-2002, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
RGN

Seymore Duncan vs. Dimarzio

I am pretty new to this web site and it is really obvious that most of you are really fond of Dimarzio pickups. I am curious about this. I have owned about 15 different guitars in my time with all kinds of pickups. I went through an EMG 81 phases, then did play X2Ns for several years. These days every guitar I own except my new Jem 7VWH has a Seymour Duncan Jeff Beck or Custom Custom model in the bridge. My neck pickups vary - Alinco Pro II, Jazz, ESP hot rail single coil, etc... I really like the Evolutions but still find something very "Dimarzio" about them. My last Dimarzio clad guitar had a Tone Zone in the bridge and PAF Pro in the neck. THat guitar (an old 550) was tuned down to C# and it sounded cool with the Tone Zone. I am not anti-Dimarzio. I just think that Duncan's have a certain warmth that I can't generally get with Dimarzios. I am interested in your opinions on this issue.

Regards,
RGN
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-24-2002, 01:47 PM

to me it depends on what kind of music and sound you need.
would be odd to hear Vai playing his music with a Seymour, or whatever but DiMarzios...
viceversa for Slash...
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-24-2002, 02:03 PM

i personaly think that yes the ducans do have a certain warmth to them and are nice is many situations i dont think they are better than dimarzio or worse i happen to like dimarzio a lil bit more i just love the combination of the fred and paf p and i love the evos to.

but i do see what you are gettin at and duncans are fine pickups if i could aford to then i would equip something with them but i have things that are higher on my to get and do list