SHARP UV fret edges... ouch! - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2004, 03:58 AM Thread Starter

SHARP UV fret edges... ouch!

Hey guys!
I'm currently doing a restring and complete setup of an Ibanez Universe UV777bk {black w/pyramids}. Everything is going pretty well so far. The action on the treble side around the upper frets could be better, i suspect a small shim is needed.... Anyway, one of the biggest problems are the darn fret edges! These things are extremely rough and pointy on both sides of the board. The fretwork on my Dillion 7 strings is fantastic, so this is really bothering me. What can i do to remedy this??? I've never done any fretwork before {other than beating a slightly protruding fret back into a slot}, so please walk me through this in baby steps. I have a set of small, fine, thin files, i'm guessing they'll prove to be useful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2004, 05:43 AM

no fear, just mask frets on both sides, then file their edges down. be careful, dont file too much fret off under the outer strings
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2004, 09:15 AM
site founder 0% owner

Reviews: 1
sounds like the wood contracted a bit. is it stored at a semi-constant humidity level ? if so then you can file down the fret edges. i'd probably "humidify" it first (ie. it's winter here and heat can dry these things, especially forced air)... glen
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2004, 11:05 AM