Stereo poweramp with mono cab?? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-04-2011, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Hey all,

Im looking to simplify my guitar rig and was looking to get a decent modeler pedal and run it into a tube poweramp then into my mesa recto 2x12 cab.

My only doubt is that my cab is mono and i can't seem to find any mono poweramp (not sure if they exist). If i run out of one side of the poweramp with this damage the amp at all?

So, is it safe to run a stereo poweramp into a mono cab??

Thanks.
dangerous_rob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-04-2011, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Adelaide , Australia
Posts: 1,297
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

A stereo guitar power amp is two separate amps side by side.
If you only have the one cab(mono) then you just use one side of the amp.
So plug into just the A channel and you have a regular mono setup and if you blow a fuse or whatever you have another fully functioning amp to use on the other side.
Honestly though,get another cab and pick a stereo one.
That way at home you can have full spread stereo(with two cabs) and gigging/jamming take a single stereo quad and still enjoy the stereo sound.
No ones heard their true tone until they have played in stereo and its hard to go back to mono after experiencing it.
corey j grieve is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-04-2011, 05:50 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Or...
Instead of getting another cab you could split yours, just separate its speakers and add a another plug.
Seriously a stereo cab is just two separate sides so just separate yours, it's not rocket science.
Instanctly stereo cab.
BTW some stereo power amps like mesa, when you use ONLY 1 side you have to turn the presence of the other side all the way up so before buying anything, read their manuals.
You really don't need a tube poweramp with a digital modeler, it'll add nothing to the sound but they're more expensive and fragile.
A VERY good option would be any ADA poweramp, I had some for decades and they never let me down.
6fingers is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-04-2011, 07:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 508
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerous_rob View Post
So, is it safe to run a stereo poweramp into a mono cab??
Keep the volume on your unused channel at 0 and presence at 10 and you should be fine.

Switch between channels every once in a while to wear your tubes out equally.
tearsx is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Thanks for the info guys.
If a tube poweramp wont make much difference to the tone then i would prefer to go solid state rather than go through the unnecessary hassle of changing tube and whatnot.
The ADA's look awesome but they are way out of my budget (around 3K over here in the UK).
I've been looking at the Rocktron velocity 300 as its pretty cheap and has good reviews, what do you guys think of it? Is it worthwhile?
dangerous_rob is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 04:41 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,612
Reviews: 18
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Why don't you try plugging the cab into an EHX Magnum 44 and that into the modeler of your choice?

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 05:52 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerous_rob View Post
The ADA's look awesome but they are way out of my budget (around 3K over here in the UK).
What the hell are you talking about ?!
They cost around 250 usd.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...ube&_sacat=619

Plus an ada mp1 pre which is so world known is about 250 usd too!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ADA-MP-1-Tub...item3cbbab76fb

I prefer mp2 cause there are more distortions still all ada products are awesome.
6fingers is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6fingers View Post
What the hell are you talking about ?!
They cost around 250 usd.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...ube&_sacat=619

Plus an ada mp1 pre which is so world known is about 250 usd too!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ADA-MP-1-Tub...item3cbbab76fb

I prefer mp2 cause there are more distortions still all ada products are awesome.

Sorry, your right, I'm new to power amps and when you recommended Ada I hadnt heard of them so done a quick 'Google shopping' search which brought up loads of Ada amp that were between 2k and 5k lol my bad

The one you linked looked like a good deal. Are the rocktron velocitys any good?
dangerous_rob is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 08:18 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerous_rob View Post
Sorry, your right, I'm new to power amps and when you recommended Ada I hadnt heard of them so done a quick 'Google shopping' search which brought up loads of Ada amp that were between 2k and 5k lol my bad

The one you linked looked like a good deal. Are the rocktron velocitys any good?
Both ada and rocktron have awesome stuff.
Velocity to me is in the same level, no more or less.
Rocktron voodu valve + velocity OR ada mp2 + microtube are awesome setups.

And cheap, with around 500 usd you can buy any of these 2 setups and be out of those "1 million guys who have the same pod tone" and with better tones
6fingers is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Cool, if that's the case i'll just see which one i can get cheapest

For a preamp i'm looking at getting the Digitech gsp1101, the amp models sound pretty convincing from what ive heard.
dangerous_rob is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 11:27 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerous_rob View Post
Cool, if that's the case i'll just see which one i can get cheapest

For a preamp i'm looking at getting the Digitech gsp1101, the amp models sound pretty convincing from what ive heard.
No they don't,run away from modellers.
Mp2 and Voodoo Valve are not modellers.
6fingers is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-07-2011, 02:49 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Adelaide , Australia
Posts: 1,297
Re: Stereo poweramp with mono cab??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6fingers View Post
No they don't,run away from modellers.
Mp2 and Voodoo Valve are not modellers.

+1000 !!!

Stick with the real thing.
corey j grieve is offline  
Reply

Tags
cab , mono , poweramp , stereo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo and Mono Instrument Cables IBNZ_RG Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 09-03-2009 05:01 AM
Wiring diagram for 4&16 ohm mono and 8 ohm stereo cab? Mr.WizardNeck Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 05-17-2008 09:25 AM
Behringer Ultrastack mono or stereo? ChrisB95678 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 12-28-2003 01:05 PM
Cabinets - converting mono to stereo Mindgrip Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 01-07-2002 10:03 AM
Mono and stereo? Vaiworship Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 14 10-26-2001 10:59 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome