String intonation - weird problem - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-09-2004, 07:15 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 5
String intonation - weird problem

Today I started playing my guitar and I noticed the high E string intonation wasn't right. When I press the string on the 12th fret, the note sounds about 1/4 step lower then its correct pitch. The problem: I can't move the high E saddle towards the neck to correct the intonation (it's already all the way forward). What should I do? The bridge is a crappy Lo-TRS II tremolo.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 02:53 AM

damn, you mean that all that forward saddle' placement is not enough!?! this means that the entire trem placement is bad, no matter what trem you get there.
but are you positive that the E-saddle is fastened on the screw' hole nearer the neck? or is it fastened on the backward screw' hole?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 09:32 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno
damn, you mean that all that forward saddle' placement is not enough!?! this means that the entire trem placement is bad, no matter what trem you get there.
but are you positive that the E-saddle is fastened on the screw' hole nearer the neck? or is it fastened on the backward screw' hole?
It's fastened on the screw hole near the neck, I'm sure. One weird thing is that I played the guitar last week and it was all right. Most weird thing: the 24th fret is in tune, while any frets between 11-24 are out of tune.
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 02:27 AM

wow!
maybe bad frets placement? or pickups too close to the strings?
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 10:54 PM

Sounds like maybe a truss rod issue. What do you think Rich?
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-12-2004, 12:12 AM