Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ??? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ???

Is this mod possible ? What changes do i need to make to an RG350DX to install a Fishman piezo bridge ?? any idea if it is "doable"
extremist777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 02:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brampton, ON Canada
Posts: 553
Re: Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ???

I did this mod to one of my "hacker" guitars. I just cut out a piece of scrap wood the exact size of the route left from the floating bridge. The cutout piece was a nice tight fit that I glued and hammered into place. Once the glue was dry I sanded it even with the body. All you need to do then is measure properly for the scale length and attach the fixed bridge. You might want to repaint the body also to give a more professional look.

G
guitvai1 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 02:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 636
Re: Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ???

woh nelly, thats a pickle, the accounts i've seen of people actually putting in a fixed bridge rather than just blocking it have come along with huge amounts of wood filler and i think (in case of the 350DX) you'd be better off finding an RG321 and just replacing that bridge. not that guitar isnt good, its just that i think you'd save yourself alot of hassle and some money buy buying another guitar, and who doesn't like a perfectly logical reason to get another guitar

edit ^ or do what he did.
Dylan7620 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 03:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,238
Reviews: 120
Re: Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ???

Here's a tutorial on projectguitar.com

http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/tht1.htm
LonePhantom is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 04:01 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 517
Re: Swap a floating Bridge for a Fixed ???

Buy another guitar body that fits your neck that has the routing already done bro, plenty of bodys out there you can get cheep enough.
jaken777 is offline  
Reply

Tags
fixed bridge , guitar body , piezo bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning a floating bridge Chris22 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 01-30-2012 08:13 PM
Floating Bridge angle? Shredragrammaton Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 14 02-07-2009 05:13 PM
First floating bridge guitar please help! Bzz All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 5 04-13-2006 08:44 AM
Disable Floating Bridge eatsleepplayguitar Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 12-17-2005 01:35 PM
fixed bridge on a floating bridge ibanez..questions Ki swordsman Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 10-17-2005 07:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome