Urgent Urgent Help, Stupid Question... Sorry Im a newbie - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2004, 04:35 PM Thread Starter

Urgent Urgent Help, Stupid Question... Sorry Im a newbie

Hi all... I am very very sorry for having to post such a silly question... But I am extremely stupid and I have the IQ of a drool monkey. I know there are probably a bunch of other posts regarding this... But please forgive me and try to help...

I changed my high E string on my Jem and ever since, it won't stay in tune; all the strings go flat to almost a half step (E-Eb, A-Ab, D-Db, etc.) and also, my tremolo bar hits my pickup switch when it is in center position, something that has never happened before.

My problem is urgent because if I can't find a way to get my Jem in tune and properly set up, I will have to return it (parents... I'm a teenager.... ergh...) So please anyone who is experienced please give me some info on at least where to start... Thanks

Darrell
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2004, 05:23 PM
Vendor

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2004, 06:33 PM

You aren't stupid, and your questions aren't dumb if you have little or no experience with owning and maintaining a trem-equipped guitar.

Are you a complete newbie at guitar maintenance, or is your JEM giving you trouble you haven't experienced before? Are you sure you changed your E string with one of the correct gauge? And did you stretch it in properly?
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2004, 10:04 PM Thread Starter