Weird tuning issue - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-17-2016, 11:48 PM Thread Starter

Weird tuning issue

Hey guys quick question here I have a slight dilemma but it's just enough to drive anybody slightly insane. I currently have an Ibanez J custom 8527vv seven string. It has the Edge Pro 7 on it. I've been doing technical set ups for over 15 years but this one I cannot seem to figure it out.

Here's my problem: After setting up my guitar about a month ago fully stretching the strings proper set up procedure fully stretched prior to locking the nut I set my relief and about .012 which is pretty standard. I tune to A standard Which is ADGCFAD, aka Korn tuning. Nothing is moved every everything seems good but my problem is that every couple days after I take it out I noticed at least one or two of the strings is sometimes slightly flat and the other maybe slightly sharp just depends so I use the fine-tune to retune it perfectly to my satisfaction. After a couple days I will notice a string or two might be slightly sharp and another slightly flat a little just a semitone. I retune and this constantly repeats itself after about a few days or so of not playing. Neck hasn't
moved. Here's the catch, I don't even use the trem and it is blocked with a Tremol-no. The bridge has not moved at all either. Maybe bad strings? Strings are Dean Markley signature series 10-62.
Any input would be greatly appreciated guys please share your experience.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-19-2016, 10:39 PM

Re: Weird tuning issue

Disengage the Tremol-No, then check the screws for:

* Neck
* Nut