ZR tremolo strings break at saddle - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cleveland
Posts: 5
ZR tremolo strings break at saddle

Howdy Jemsite,
i recently purchased an ibanez S320 with the Zero Resistance tremolo. I changed the strings to DRs in 9s. within the past two weeks both the A and the D came unwound and unusable at the saddle while doing a pull up on the bar. I restrung it with the ball head at the peg fashion, and the strings stayed perfectly in tune while they lasted. I am not a heavy player. what is wrong with my guitar?!
wheresmybrain01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 08:47 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Re: ZR tremolo strings break at saddle

Quote:
Originally Posted by wheresmybrain01 View Post
Howdy Jemsite,
i recently purchased an ibanez S320 with the Zero Resistance tremolo. I changed the strings to DRs in 9s. within the past two weeks both the A and the D came unwound and unusable at the saddle while doing a pull up on the bar. I restrung it with the ball head at the peg fashion, and the strings stayed perfectly in tune while they lasted. I am not a heavy player. what is wrong with my guitar?!
you are probably over tightening it or not putting it into the saddle fully or something.
thesimo is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 10:04 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Re: ZR tremolo strings break at saddle

make sure there are no small broken pieces of string in the saddle preventing it from tightening properly.
theskull is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 05:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 42
Re: ZR tremolo strings break at saddle

Snip off the ball end and fit that to the saddle clamp. More meat to grasp in the string lock. I used to fit string in the same way and had breakage at the saddle as you have. No probs round the other way.

The Edge in the US custom has never let go or snaped a string with the ball end at the tuners. Gota make ya wonder why?
The Scumbuckler is offline  
Reply

Tags
zr tremolo strings break

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tremolo saddle blocks help?! sirshredsalot Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 03-17-2009 01:48 AM
WTB: Center Lo-Trs 7 saddle OR Lo-Trs 7 tremolo/bridge Drache713 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 08-15-2007 11:53 AM
Looking for Edge tremolo saddle shims Econ Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 12-14-2005 06:13 PM
How does Vai not break strings? Fry Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 15 02-25-2004 07:24 AM
OPkay my strings break at the bridge Vaiworship Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 11 12-24-2001 07:27 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome