Roland Ready RG prestige - Jemsite
Comments to Ibanez Here is your chance to post your comments to Ibanez. Officially this topic is NOT endorsed, approved or monitored by Ibanez/Hoshino. That said, voice your opinion anyway. Please be courteous.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: singapore
Posts: 31
Roland Ready RG prestige

I'm hoping tt ibanez makes another prestige line roland ready guitar...just like he rg 1520gx from 2003 i think. missed that one and never really found another like it. what do you guys think
hayst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-20-2011, 06:19 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 549
Reviews: 18
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Didn't they make one in '92 too? That one was nice. I'd like one, but than again you can just buy the Roland pickup kit.

Actually, now that I think about it, do normal RG's even have enough room between the bridge pup and the bridge for the Roland pickup?
IBNZ_RG is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 03:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: singapore
Posts: 31
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

issit? any idea which model was tt in '92? ive been combing the net for someone who might jsut offload one of those. i don't really like the look of the whole roland pickup kit, abit too bulky.
not really sure abt the space or how it works though.
hayst is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 05:44 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

You can fit the roland kit beween the trem and bridge pickup, here are 2 I did...

and

Not tried with an RG with a scratchplate, and you need to cut off one edge of the pickup surround.
Jim
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 09:27 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 549
Reviews: 18
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Oh forget it. I saw a '92 RG1200 on eBay a while back with a Roland pickup on it, so for some reason I thought they came like that! So there wasn't a '92 Roland ready. My bad.

I still would like to see a Roland ready RG.

Found the eBay listing here:
http://cgi.ebay.ie/1992-Ibanez-RG-12...-/110559685997
They said it was factory, so that's what put me off.
IBNZ_RG is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 10:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South West UK
Posts: 953
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Here's my 1520, bought off the 'bay and actually the second one I tried to buy, so they do come up once in a while...
Vim Fuego is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 12:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 549
Reviews: 18
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vim Fuego View Post
Here's my 1520, bought off the 'bay and actually the second one I tried to buy, so they do come up once in a while...
That's a nice guitar!
IBNZ_RG is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 04:12 PM
 
JEM77BRMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 314
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

+1. I'm loking for one if anyone has one for sale. All I have is my JCRG21A, and a GK3 mounted to my RG20062 I would like to try one that is built into the bridge.
JEM77BRMR is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-22-2011, 05:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: singapore
Posts: 31
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

nice! how did the synth thing sound. similiar to gk3?
hayst is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2011, 07:03 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA
Posts: 112
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

I've had both Ibanez Roland Ready Guitars, RG420GK, and RG1520GK. The 420 has the GK pickup, while the 1520 has LR Baggs piezo's in the Edge Pro.

In my opinion, the 420 worked better with VG Products, vg8, vg 88, vg99, while the 1520 works best with midi converter units, GI 20, GR 30 etc. There were 2 J custom models also that utilized the gk pickup.

I sold my 420 a few years ago, but wish I hadn't. I would NEVER part with my 1520, as the edge pro with piezo's is nearly impossible to find, and the Ghost piezo saddles will NOT fit in the edge pro, (but they will fit in an original edge, like on the jem and satriani models).

The latest Roland unit the gr 55 combines a VG system, (virtual guitar) with a GR SYSTEM, with internal COSM MODELS of guitars, amps effects, and synth patches, along with MIDI out. I hear that it tracks as well with either the gk pickup or piezo saddles.


I really am not a fan of any of the new edge bridges, and am surprised that even the J Customs use the edge pro II or similar. The edge lo pro and edge pro are the best in my
opinion. I am working on removing piezo's from the Graph Tech Ghost Floyd saddles, and installing them in an edge pro bridge.
merman_93 is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2011, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 1,737
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

I've been looking into the gr-55 and I'm tempted....severely tempted. Would have to decide which guitar to put the gk-3 pickup on as well. Guy at the local GC said he put one of a Dan Armstrong plexi model and that must be a sight to behold.
Jack Secret is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-21-2011, 12:38 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Hi everyone,

I have an rg1520bp-gk that I'm interested in selling. I bought it in 2005 and it's in great condition. A few nicks in the paint, however I have had them touched up. Also, I have replaced the stock pickups with Dimarzio Breeds.

Send me a PM if you are interested or want more info. I can't post my email address because I have only recently signed up.

I live in Australia, so be warned, there may be freight costs involved.
SASmusashi is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-21-2011, 01:49 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 189
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBNZ_RG View Post

Actually, now that I think about it, do normal RG's even have enough room between the bridge pup and the bridge for the Roland pickup?
With the old RG's (90's?!?), there was enough space to slip in a GK2 without cutting off anything. Currently, there are NO Ibanez Tremolo guitars (that I know of) that will accommodate a synth pickup without a little modification...
TheTranslator is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-22-2011, 10:16 PM
 
JEM77BRMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 314
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTranslator View Post
With the old RG's (90's?!?), there was enough space to slip in a GK2 without cutting off anything. Currently, there are NO Ibanez Tremolo guitars (that I know of) that will accommodate a synth pickup without a little modification...
No mod here, granted it's a 2006 model


JEM77BRMR is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 09-22-2011, 11:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 189
Re: Roland Ready RG prestige

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEM77BRMR View Post
No mod here, granted it's a 2006 model


Nice. Most of my Ibby's (other than my old Korean RG270) are more recent models, like the EGEN8, S770PB, and a couple low-end RG's (I've been using Gibson SG's prior to that). I guess I'll have to shop for a used 2006, or whatever the most recent year that has enough space to slip in a GK2. Too bad the RG1570 I'm picking up at Guitar Center tomorrow dosen't have enough space...

Last edited by TheTranslator; 09-22-2011 at 11:54 PM.
TheTranslator is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB WTT Fender or Ibanez Roland Ready kirk Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 08-22-2008 04:08 AM
FS: Ibanez RG420GK Roland Ready with 13-pin out mitrich Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 04-06-2007 06:34 PM
RG520G is this a Roland Ready guitar!?! Robotechnology All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 6 07-12-2005 11:43 AM
Roland-Ready 7 String... - Anyone ever seen one?? rlintz All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 12 04-20-2002 04:01 AM
new rg's - 1 roland ready and a hardtail Getthis All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 37 07-30-2001 08:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome