Basic modes question - What do I do with these things? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-21-2001, 01:55 PM Thread Starter

Basic modes question - What do I do with these things?

I'm new to this mode stuff; *what I'm wondering is how I use these things. *For instance, I've got a book that explains that this mode is for use over this type of chord (example: *Dorian for minor 7th or dominant 7th sus4, Lydian #5 for Major 7 #5, etc.). *

Now, I play mostly rock, so I never run into a dominant 7 sus4. *Most of it is root-fifth chords, or at most triads. *Yet, Plenty of rock players use modes, apparently for some purpose.

So, If I play a I-IV-V progression, do I play the major or minor scale over the tonic chord, and then change to the fourth and fifth modes of that scale over the IV and V chords? *Or is that totally wrong?

I'd like to learn the modes by recording rhythm parts and then practicing changing modes over the various chords, but I can't really get started on this 'till I know what I'm supposed to do.

Thanks,

Jack
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-23-2001, 08:48 AM

Basic modes question

A short bit of practical advice to build upon when you've got this bit sussed.

Say you are playing a I IV V. Just try playing the dorian, phrygian, or mixolydian over the chords and stay in that mode through the whole progression ie if you are playing a minor 12 bar in E, play E dorian ie Dmajor, over the chords . Few of the notes will sound wrong.

As usual, if it sounds good it is good blah blah blah

Guy
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-24-2001, 12:32 AM

Reviews: 3
Basic modes question