Beginner (Sort Of) - Need Suggestions - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-25-2001, 12:42 PM Thread Starter

Beginner (Sort Of) - Need Suggestions

Hi, I've been playing for about three years, and have a few questions:

1) *How can I improve my speed/accuracy?

2) *What would be a good (easy) song to help give me a taste of Vai-style guitar work?

3) *What would you suggest to a medium level guitarist, looking to improve? *

Thanx in advance!

P.S. *I practise a lot every day.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-25-2001, 12:58 PM

Beginner (Sort Of)

Keep practicing a lot every day
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-25-2001, 01:20 PM

Reviews: 5
Beginner (Sort Of)

1. *To improve- practice more/seek lessons
2. *To start with, you might want to try "Die to Live"
3. *Challenge yourself. *Pickout a piece you know you CANNOT play and learn it until you CAN.

4. *Read the lessons posted here.
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-25-2001, 06:43 PM

Beginner (Sort Of)

Pick a record that may be just a little bit above your level and figure it out, note for note. *Try to transcribe all of the guitar yourself, and definately know all the chord changes. *Don't peek at any tab unless you absolutely have to. *Also, playing against the record will help you stay on tempo.

You can practice chops, speed, etc. all you want, but I have found that in order to be a better guitar player and musician, you should probably try figuring out different songs, styles, players, and the like. *By doing this, you learn a lot more at once than you would by just running a major scale really fast.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-29-2001, 07:11 PM

Beginner (Sort Of)