Besides Shred / Prog Rock, what else do y'all listen to? - Jemsite
Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! Covers everything from discussing musicians, bands, music, albums, videos, local jams & sharing multimedia links (no illegal file sharing please).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 01-18-2006, 05:13 PM Thread Starter

Besides Shred / Prog Rock, what else do y'all listen to?

I was going through my buddy's CD collection and I realized 90-95% of his music was metal/prog/shred. He doesn't even own a Zeppelin album (is that legal?!?!). What do y'all listen to? Does anyone jam something totally weird that you wouldn't think a typical Jemsite reader would listen to?

Up until I graduated from high school (I'm 23, so a while ago), I listened to nothing but metal or its forerunners (Zeppelin, Sabbath, ect...). But after looking at my friend's collection, I came back and browsed mine and realized how insanely diverse my musical tastes have become. I'd say I probably have 40% rock (including metal), 40% country, 20% other (hip hop, classical, jazz).

I'd say my weird music is definetly country, alt-country to be specific. As for how I got into it. I go to Texas A&M, and discovered that the crap they play on the radio isn't the only type of country music. Secondly, I discovered I can sing country really well. And probalby last, rock music these days has become too whiney. When I listen to stuff like Incubus or Staind I ask myself "are there that many depressed people in this country that this stuff actually sells?" I think the last modern rock song I heard that I liked was Shinedown's cover of "Simple Man" which is a Skynrd song anyway, so it doesn't count...

Oh yeah, country is also one of the few forms of music these days that isn't complete void of a guitar solo